Music Monday: Soaking it up!

A while back a friend of mine introduced me to a really cool website, Soaking.net. The best thing about this site is the free music it offers to listen to and explore various artists who specialize in, you guessed it, soaking music. You may be unfamiliar with soaking music, I was. I had heard of it only recently and loved the concept. There is a whole article on the site about what “soaking” is. For me, it is a time to sit and just be with God. There is something about this music, with words, or strickly instrumental, that helps me stay focused. My mind seems to wander in a million directions, pondering all sorts of things. So, this music has helped with that. It seems to calm my wandering mind.

And, it wouldn’t be Music Monday if I didn’t include a couple of songs. So, here are some samples of soaking music for you to enjoy on this awesome Monday morning:

Now that is some kind of friend!

1 Corinthians 1:9  “God is faithful – reliable, trustworthy and [therefore] ever true to His promise, and He can be depended on; by Him you were called into companionship and participation with His Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.”

I read this verse for the first time a couple of days ago, or maybe for the 100th time.  But the other day when I read it, it took my breath away.  The part that really jumped out to me was that I have been called into companionship with His Son.  There isn’t much better in this life to me than friendship.  I value my friendships very highly and can be rocked to the core when I sense the slightest bit of trouble.  I can be knocked off course when friendships turn bad.  Truth is, sometimes I put more stock in friendships than I should.

When I read this verse, it thrilled me because it is proof that Jesus wants to be my friend.  He called me to be his friend.  My love for friendship has always been about companionship and having someone to do life with.  That is exactly what he promises in this verse.  A forever friend.  The best friend one could ever have.  A friend who really does have all the answers.  I friend who really will never leave or turn their back on you.  A friend who will remain loyal for eternity.  I have some great friends, some of the best anyone could ever ask for.  I have a best friend in my handsome fella, a friend for life.  God has blessed me greatly in that area of my life, but this is even better.  He has called me into friendship with Jesus!

Here is what the verse says in The Message – “God, who got you started in this spiritual adventure, shares with us the life of his Son and our Master Jesus, He will never give up on you.  Never forget that.”

There you have it, we have a friend who will NEVER give up on us!!  We have a friend who really does have all the answers.  We have a friend who desires to have companionship with us.  We aren’t just wandering around on this planet doing the best we can.  We have the best friend in the Universe!!  We have the most dependable friend we could ever ask for or ever hope to be.