Hey! You! Come get your Basket!!

Have you ever wanted to ask God for something but you were afraid He wouldn’t answer, so you stopped short?  Have you ever asked Him in a way that would let Him off the hook if you didn’t get the answer you wanted?

I did that today…

I was at a conference I had been invited to by a friend who was one of the speakers.  There were two baskets of goodies that they were giving away.  They were full of all kinds of fun stuff including a book my friend had written and another book by the conference coordinator.  I wanted one of those baskets…really bad.  I thought for a minute about asking God for it, but, well, what if someone else needed it more than me.  That was a noble, selfless thought, right?  Wrong!  I didn’t really want anyone else to have that basket, but I was afraid to just ask God for it.  I didn’t want Him to tell me no.  I didn’t want to be disappointed.

So, I told Him I’d like to have it, but didn’t REALLY ask Him for it and then I proceeded to ask Him to just give them to whoever in the room really needed them.  I asked Him to give them to whoever in the room needed a touch from Him.  And then I busied my mind with distractions…and they had to repeat my name when it was called for the drawing.  🙂

Thanks God for the basket of goodies!  Thank you for answering me even thru my doubt and unbelief filled prayers.  Thank you for KNOWING what I needed this weekend and answering the whimpering, doubt filled cries of my heart.  Thank you for being concerned about the big things and the little things like baskets o’ goodies.

Leave a comment