Check the meaning!

wordsI’ve been intrigued by the use of words lately…and misuse.  Yesterday I took the girls to get a haircut.  I didn’t have an appointment anywhere and didn’t have time in the schedule to make one…procrastination does that.  So I had no choice but to choose a “walk-in” place.  I’m sure that not all “walk-in” places are bad.  I should have clued in when the only people getting hair cuts in this place were men and boys.  (No, I’m not saying men and boys only receive bad haircuts.  It just takes something different to cut their hair than it does to cut a girl’s hair so that it can be styled).  It wasn’t advertised as a place just for men.  I didn’t go to one of THOSE places.  I went to a place advertised for families and GREAT haircuts.  Let’s just say they misused that word and I will be finding time in the schedule to get that GREAT haircut fixed.

Have you ever really stopped to listen to people talk?  You can learn a lot about them by the words they use…and misuse.  If you listen really close you might even learn some things about yourself.  The misuse of words is just annoying…as in the case above.  You think you are getting one thing only to find out it wasn’t at all what you were signing up for.  If you just go with the words you can get yourself in some real pickles.  BUT, you don’t have to.  There are always clues surrounding the words that will point to their authenticity.  Yes…there were clues BEFORE the scissors came out yesterday.  I was in too big of a hurry and time crunch to heed them.  My first thought upon entering the establishment…LEAVE.  I chose to ignore that word which was much more authentic than the posted one.

What kinds of words do you use and misuse?  I’m not talking about cuss words here.  I do think those have their proper time and place…come on…you know you agree!  They also tend to be way overused!!  But, I’m not talking about those anyways.  Are your words authentic?  Do they convey what you are really trying to say?  Do they convey the truth of what you are feeling?  Do they accomplish what you meant for them to when you said them?  Are you even that intentional with your words?

I was in a setting recently where lots of words were being said and over the course of a couple of hours lots of those words contradicted themselves.  I don’t know if anyone else picked up on it, but I did.  I picked up on it because I was paying close attention.  I wanted the words spoken to be authentic.  I wanted them to be true.  I wanted to be able to stand on what was being spoken.  I was looking for affirmation of my own thoughts.  It is difficult to affirm something that isn’t authentic.  The clues were not as apparent as they were in the beauty shop, but they were there.

I’ve seen words build up and tear down over the course of the past few months.  Simple words.  Words spoken freely without thought to their power have been spoken in haste and laid important things to waste.  Words spoken carefully and intentionally that have built foundations for others to stand and grow on if the receiver was paying attention.  I’ve seen God place simple words in my path to do a much deeper work than the word would appear capable of on the surface.  I’ve heard the still small voice of God and the loud obnoxious one of the enemy.  Somehow it seems the enemy can use our lack of attention to bring the deepest wounds with the simplest misuse of words.

Be careful with your words.  Be intentional with what you say.  Don’t misuse even the simplest words…they all have power!  Listen carefully!  Pay attention!  Dig deeper!  Those words you hear might be more important than you thought they were.

21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue,
And those who love it will eat its fruit. – Proverbs 18:21

12 For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. – Hebrews 4:12

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear. – Ephesians 4:29

There is one whose rash words are like sword thrusts, but the tongue of the wise brings healing. – Proverbs 12:18

Want more verses to ponder?  Just google “scriptures on the power of words”…but be careful…you could be there all day…if you are paying attention.