Thankful Thursday: Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s been a fun month of status updates filled with thankfulness.  Some were serious, some were just for fun and some may have had a bit of sarcasm in them, but I meant them all to be a snapshot of things I am thankful for in one way or another.  I meant for all of them to keep my mind focused on gratefulness in both big and small things.

Today, I wanted to post a few more things I am thankful for.  God has blessed me in so many ways throughout my life and this year has been no exception.  As always, I am thankful for a mom who introduced me to faith in God at a young age.  While my faith has become my own and does not look exactly like the one I was raised with, it had its starts as a child and for that I am grateful.  I am thankful for a dad who used the talents God gave him to provide for his families needs.  He has always cared for us and has done the best he could to make sure our needs have been met.  I am thankful for a sister who, despite her limitations, loves me without condition.  I am thankful for the role she plays in our lives and what God teaches us about ourselves thru her.  I am thankful for the childhood memories that I have being her sister.

I am also thankful for my step-parents and the role that they play in my life and the life of my children.  They are a blessing to my parent’s lives and I am glad God has given them to all of us.  I am thankful for step-siblings who are fun to be around as adults.  I am thankful for the laughter they bring to family gatherings and the fun we have over a game of Rummicube or Setters of Catan, or whatever game someone happens to bring during a given year.

I am thankful for aunts and uncles.  although I do not see them often, I know they are there and have fun memories of years gone by.  I have some great childhood memories and funny stories to share one day on here that involve each one of my aunts and uncles in one way or another.

I am thankful for the memory of my Grandma and Grandpa Parker.  I miss them dearly.  They were the best grandparents any kid could hope to have.  I wish so many times that my kids could experience what it was like to spend time on the farm as a child.  They are priceless memories that I have no way of passing on to them.  I am also thankful for my Granny who I also miss.  She was the sweetest lady. And I am thankful I will be spending Thanksgiving with my Mama Pat (Grandma). My girls think it is pretty cool to get to spend time with a great grandmother.

I am  thankful for my immediate family!!  I have the best husband God could have ever dreamed of for me.  No wonder it took a little extra time for God to prepare us for each other.  I am thankful for the way he has grown in his personal walk with God this year.  I pray for that to continue.  I am thankful for Emily and Gracie and the joy they bring to my life everyday.  I am thankful to be their Mom.  I am thankful for the ways being their mom helps me to grow as a person.  I am thankful for the two sweet dogs that bring joy to our family every day.

I am thankful for friends who are like family to me.  I am thankful for the laughter they bring to my life.  I am thankful for the way they hold me accountable and give me grace.  I am thankful for the way they serve God and each other thru the ups and downs of life.  This has been a difficult year for many of them and I am thankful that God has held their hands through it all.  I am thankful for all the new friends I have made this year and look forward to seeing where God leads those friendships.  I am thankful for memories of friendships that God has blessed me with in other seasons of life.

I am thankful for the material blessings that God has given my family to meet and exceed our needs and wants.  I am thankful God continues to bless the handsome fella with a job to support us.

I am thankful that God has continued to shine down His grace and mercy on my life.  I am thankful that He continues to lead me and be patient with me as I seek to follow Him.  I am thankful He never gives up on me!  I am thankful that His love for me is beyond anything I could ask or imagine.  I am thankful that He continues to provide opportunities for me to grow in my love and service for Him.  I am thankful that He provides a way for me to know and love Him both now and for eternity.

One thought on “Thankful Thursday: Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Joann says:

    Beautiful thankfulness!

Leave a comment