Ink with Wings

Have you ever been in the middle of reading and something just flew off the page and into your head and you couldn’t get it out? Has that ever happened while you were reading something familiar as if this was the first time you had ever seen it? Has it happened with a truth that seems so common sense that you aren’t really sure why it never hit you like that before?

Did Oprah call those lightbulb moments or was that Al Gore?

That is what they feel like to me. Those moments feel like someone reached over and flipped a switch and all of a sudden I see or understand something more clearly than before. My handsome fella is always saying he is going to write a book of common sense. I think the thing that flew off the page at me today might fit somewhere in that book.

“A sword is not a real weapon when it is still in the sheath. It must be taken out and used as needed!” – Beverly Sawyer, HeartQuest devotional

Sounds pretty common sense, huh? Anyone older than two could probably tell you you have to take the sword out of its case in order to be able to use it properly. I suppose you could whack someone in the head with it but that isn’t exactly what a sword is designed to do.

It’s just a common sense quote until you read it in context and THEN…THEN it spreads wings and flies. It comes alive or it did for me.

What happens when you read that sentence in the context of spiritual warfare? What happens when you find out that quote was referring to the sword of the Spirit – the Word of God?

Here it is in context…

“This is “Rhema” – the “living Word”; Stay in the written Word and in close relationship with the “living Word”. Allow Him to show you how to apply the truths you read. A sword is not a real weapon when it is still in the sheath. It must be taken out and used as needed!” – Beverly Sawyer, HeartQuest devotional

Until fairly recently, the past few years, the bible was pretty dry for me to read. I read it. I went to a Christian University and attended the bible classes. I owned more than one. I owned more than one version. I have more than one Bible app with more than one version on each one. I frequent websites on my computer that make it handy to read the bible even when there isn’t one handy. Big deal. It still seemed dry.

And then something happened. It started coming alive. It started to matter. It started to make a difference in my life. I began to see things I had never seen before in stories I had read or heard all my life. God began to highlight scriptures that I needed for particular circumstances in my life. Bible stories began to take on a form other than flannel.

The bible became more than a book to pound people over the head with. The words began to leave the pages and make their way past my eyes and into my heart. The word became the Word in my life.

I’ve got a long way to go. There is much I’ve read but haven’t “seen”. There are promises I struggle to believe are for me. I could write a whole new post about people in the bible who believed the promises without living to see their fulfillment yet they still believed and we got a front row seat into the fulfillment.

Today His Word and word have become much more dear to me. His word has become much more alive. My desire to take his words out of the book and apply them where they go in my life has become much more real. I no longer want to see the words in that book left in their cover. They don’t belong there. They weren’t meant to stay there.

They were meant to fly!

Leave a Reply

