When they saw the Gift

The final presents have been bought and before my head hits the pillow tomorrow night, they will all be wrapped and under the tree. The girls bought and wrapped their own presents to each other and to me and my handsome fella with their own money this year and I have to say it was fun to watch them hunt for the perfect gifts. Their generosity for the recipient of their gifts made my heart smile. Their thoughtfulness in picking just the right gift made my face smile.

One of them told me she has more fun buying gifts to give others than receiving them herself. Both of them conveyed that thought with their actions even if they both didn’t say it out loud.

Do we have to wait until the 25th to open presents? As much fun as it was to watch them buy for others this year, I am ready for them to dig into the gifts. I always want to buy more to stuff under the tree, but with the beautiful spirit of giving that has fallen on them this year, I can’t wait to see their eyes as they watch others open their gifts.

I wonder if that is how God felt when people saw his son lying in that manger for the first time? I wonder if He just couldn’t wait to see the look on the face of Mary and Joseph or the Shepherds? Or was it the look in the eyes of each person who believes in Jesus, that God waits anxiously to look in the eyes and see the flash of excitement? Maybe that is why He wants us to seek is face? So He can see the sparkle in our eyes as we look upon the ultimate gift of love?

 

Leave a Reply

