A Mighty Little Princess

Have you ever stopped to wonder what Jesus must have been like as a little boy? This time of year it’s pretty easy to imagine him as the baby wrapped in swaddling clothes but we don’t have much to go on when it comes to the rest of his early years. What did he play with? Who were his best friends as a little boy? What was it like for Jesus growing up? I’m sure we could look into the customs of his days and how other little boys grew up and make some educated guesses about what it would have been like.

I got to church a little early tonight and was sitting in the auditorium quietly contemplating the events of my day and talking to God about some stuff. I was watching the intercessors making their way around the auditorium praying and inviting God’s Presence to fill the place and the hearts of those who would arrive to worship. I looked up and saw the cutest little girl standing eyeball to eyeball with me. She looked at me and with a smile asked if she could pray for me. I was not about to turn down a prayer from such a precious and pure heart. That little girl prayed the most beautiful prayer of identity and God’s love for me. So precious. After she finished she smiled, gave me a sweet hug and made her way to pray for others.

The services then began and we worshipped and listened to a message on Peace and my mind wandered back to the things in my life that could use an infusion of Peace. My mind doesn’t actually stray very far from the circumstances of life and the things that threaten my peace right now but that isn’t what this is about.

The message ended and it was time for communion. We got the elements passed out and sat back down to commune. That is when my mind drifted back to the little girls prayer, but this time I was imagining Jesus as a little boy laying hands on people and praying for them. I wondered if he must have done that.

I thought about all the times we talk about Jesus living inside of us and how we are His hands and feet. I thought about Jesus living inside of my little friend and how much of Him she was pouring out onto others this afternoon. I love the way Jesus flowed thru that little girl today. I love the way her prayer continued to bless me as I remembered what Jesus did for me by coming to this earth as a man. I love that she helped me imagine what it must have been like to know that young King. I’m thankful to know a little Princess in His Mighty Kingdom.

Thank you my little friend for sharing a bit of the Jesus inside of you with me!

Leave a Reply

