Pausing for Meaning

The tree is decorated for Christmas and tomorrow I will finish the rest of the house and put the boxes away until sometime after Christmas. I might even get them put up before the new year begins, but I’m not going to make you a promise. It is always nice to begin the New Year with a fresh, clean, put back together house after all the hustle and bustle, but I don’t always get around to it.

This year the girls decorated the tree. I think they did a really nice job. When we get around to posting Christmas pics on here, you can decide what you think. We have a few finishing touches so we aren’t ready to unveil their finished work just yet.

It has sounded like Christmas around here for parts of the day. We’ve had Christmas Carols playing off and on…between Justin Bieber and various other popular teen pop stars. And, there have been Christmas movies playing on the tv.

I think there has also been some Christmas shopping taking place on this computer, but I can neither confirm nor deny said shenanigans. Especially since the shopping was being done for me! 😉 (No, I didn’t buy anything for myself, but a child of mine would not let me look at the computer screen and had her dad’s credit card in hand) 🙂

Hustle and bustle!!!

I sure don’t want that to be all that this season is about…or any other season.

A couple of years ago I bought a book, God With Us: Rediscovering the Meaning of Christmas. I found it today while I was unloading the Christmas decoration boxes. I’m about a week behind according to this year’s Advent calendar, but sometimes you just have to start where you are and move forward.

Seems I’ve got a couple of things going on in my life now that could use a good dose of just starting where I am and moving forward.

There are 19 days until Christmas at the writing of this post. May you enjoy every part of this season, no matter where you are on the to-do list or the remembering. And may the real meaning of this season permeate your homes and mine!

Leave a Reply

