More Alive than an Idol

Does God speak to you? Does He see you? Does He see your circumstances? Does He know your past, present and future? Does He hear you when you pray? If you answered yes to these questions, does it make a difference in the way you live? Does it make a difference in your family? Does it make a difference in your friendships? Does it make a difference in your personal relationship with Him?

I read these verses this morning and it made me stop in my tracks…

The idols of the nations are silver and gold,
The work of men’s hands.
16 They have mouths, but they do not speak;
Eyes they have, but they do not see;
17 They have ears, but they do not hear;
Nor is there any breath in their mouths.
18 Those who make them are like them;
So is everyone who trusts in them. – Psalm 135:15-18

I wondered how often I lower God to idol status. How often do I go about life as if He isn’t speaking to me? Ignoring the things He is saying. How often do I pretend that He doesn’t see me? How often do I think He has no idea what is going on in my life? How often do I act as if He isn’t concerned? How many times have I launched a prayer without any real hope that He hears me? How many times do I become downhearted, not believing in His life-giving breath in my life?

Is He living and breathing and active in my life and on the earth, or is He like any other idol we tend to worship with our time, energy and money…silent, blind and deaf?

What difference would the honest answer to those questions make in how you live? What difference would it make in your relationship with Him? What difference would it make in the hope that you have for the future? How would your faith increase if you began believing that He is more than an idol? How much hope would you have for the things you’ve lost hope in?

Leave a Reply

