Finding the Secret Place

“He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty” – Psalm 91:1

Dwells in the secret place…

Dwell…reside, inhabit, settle, occupy, remain

I’ve thought a lot about “the secret place” lately. I’ve wanted to set up a place in my house to be used strictly for meeting alone with God. Set apart for that single purpose. I’ve considered cleaning out a corner of the closet to make a special little “secret” corner just for me and Him.

But wait, what? I’m supposed to dwell in the secret place? I don’t want to live in my closet! I don’t want to be confined to a small little corner of my house no matter how cozy and set apart I might be able to make it. BUT, I DO want to dwell in the secret place. I do want to abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I want my entire family to abide there. I don’t think the four of us would be very comfortable or happy stuck in that closet from now on. I do think we would be incredibly happy and blessed and protected under the shadow of the Almighty.

So, that secret place I keep hearing about must not be in my closet. It must not be in a chair set aside for meeting with Him.

It must be a place that I can be no matter where I am or what I am doing. If I am going to settle there and still live the life He has for me it must be some place much larger than my closet. It must be a place I can live. It must be a place I can take with me no matter where I go.

Wait, how can it be a secret if I am dwelling there and others live in my house with me? How can it be a secret if I dwell there and connect with all the people in my life? That seems like an awfully big secret. That seems like a pretty hard thing to do at the same time I’m involved in all the other things that occupy my time. Dwelling in the secret place?

Maybe there is another space that needs to be set aside, an internal space. Um, maybe it is a room…a room in my heart? A room in my mind? A secret space I can escape to in the blink of an eye. A constant communion.

Maybe it is that time and space of taking my thoughts captive. Maybe it is that constant connection with Him where I become more and more aware of walking step by step and arm in arm with Him. Maybe it is a place in the spirit that I can’t see with my eyes but my spirit is completely aware of Him.

I don’t know, but I plan to find out!

Leave a Reply

