Refocusing…Ready, Set, Go!!

What do you do when you are afraid? Do you bolt for the door? Do you see how small you can curl up in the corner and hide? Do you stand and fight? Do you retreat to your room and pull the covers up over your head? Do you lash out at whoever or whatever is standing in front of you? Do you give up or do you tighten your grip? Have you ever found yourself rotating thru that list because you just didn’t know what else to do with that thing you fear?

That list wasn’t very difficult for me to think of. I’ve done all of those things at some point as a feeble attempt to numb my fears. Whatever those fears happen to be. Heck, I’ve done every one of those things at some point in the past month.

I know this is a problem! I know this is not doing me or anyone around me any good.

I could give you some real life reasons why allowing fear to control you like that is a problem. I could tell you that if you allow fear to control you it will start with the small, insignificant things and then by the time something really big and truly dangerous comes along you end up looking more like the boy who cried wolf than you really need to look in that circumstance. No one wants to be disregarded when a wolf is prowling at the door, but if you cry in fear when there is nothing to fear you may be setting up those around you to not believe you when there is a real threat. Oh…she’s just overreacting again. Trust me…it happens.

So…I’m done with it! Out the door it goes! Banished! I’m taking a stand! No more!

But…if I’m not careful I’ll find myself right back where I started from. If I focus on not operating out of fear…I’ll find myself so focused there that I’ll be right back at the beginning wondering what went wrong. You’ve heard that principle haven’t you? The one about the thing that you focus on becoming the thing that controls you?

So, I’m gonna focus on the opposite of fear…ready?

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love. – 1 John 4:18

Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’ – Isaiah 41:10

Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you. – Deuteronomy 31:6

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind. – 2 Timothy 1:7

Anyone want to join me?

 

 

Leave a Reply

