It’s a Secret that You can Know

This weekend I attended the Voice of Healing Conference at Christ for the Nations. I really didn’t know what to expect but I knew that two people I wanted to hear were on the schedule, Heidi Baker and Bob Hamp.

Heidi Baker is a sold out lover of Jesus Christ and missionary in Mozambique. That is a really simple explanation of a woman who packs so much love and Presence into her space that words really aren’t enough. If you really want to know who she is get your hands on a copy of the movie, Compelled by Love. Click here to watch a trailer. or her book, Always Enough. Just know that she is very contagious and if you catch what she has you will long for more of Jesus and more of God’s Presence in your life. You will come to a place in your life where you might just do whatever God asks of you in order to love and serve Him because of His incredible love for you. You might not be able to help yourself. You can come back here and thank me later if you like. 🙂

Bob Hamp served in the Freedom Ministry at Gateway church for 10 years, I think, and is now back in private practice and speaking and ministering freedom to others. He was instrumental in developing the Freedom Ministry at Gateway that was designed to bring people into their destiny in the Kingdom. Freedom to become the person God created them to be. Not freedom from something, but freedom to be all they were created to be. That’s really too big to explain here too. Let me just say that his primary purpose, as I see it, is to connect people with the voice of God so that He can meet all of their emotional, spiritual and physical needs. Lets face it, if you have your own personal relationship with the One who created you and the One who knew you when you were still percolating inside your mama, everything else falls into place. Or at least you know what to do when it doesn’t. You can check out some of Bob’s messages here. If you just have time for one, check out “A Kingdom Parable.”

So, what do you learn at a Healing conference? What steps do you think I learned? Do you think I learned how to get you the physical, mental or emotional healing you are longing for in 3 easy steps…or maybe 12? Do you think maybe I learned how to pray better? Do you think I got some special methods to pray or a list of scripture to share with you?

Well, I don’t know what anyone else got, but I can tell you I did not get any of those things. Well, I did pick up a list of healing scriptures but I am not sure where I put it. I wasn’t told how to pray for anyone. I wasn’t given a list of steps. I wasn’t told what to say to anyone who might have something they are seeking healing for.

Well, not specifically.

Maybe those things were there and I just missed them. Maybe I wasn’t paying attention. Or…maybe I was. Maybe I heard EXACTLY what they were teaching. I know I heard what I was supposed to hear. I know I heard what I went there for. I know it because it’s a message that God keeps repeating.

“You want to be healed and whole? You want more of me and what I have to offer? You want to live the life you were called to live? You want to see others healed and made whole?”

“Trust me. Trust me more than anyone on that platform. Meet with me. Meet with me in the secret place. There you will receive all you need. There you will be healed and whole. There you will find the key to unlock our relationship. There I will teach you to hear my voice and walk with me and trust me. That is where you will be healed and find freedom. There is where you will learn to hear my voice.”

I started thinking about all the people I know whose spiritual walks I find myself in awe of. I thought about personal friends. I thought about people I know of. I thought about preachers and teachers that seem to hold secrets I have a hard time grabbing hold of for myself.

I started to recall all the times I’ve been encouraged over the past two years to get quiet before Him in the secret place. I started to remember all the times I’ve sought answers outside of Him and I’ve been gently and sometimes not so gently reminded to “Ask Him.” I started to recall the recent words of breathing deeply and a time I was encouraged to sit with Him and breath.

Yes, there is a time and place for prayers and laying hands on people and contending for their healing and yours. And the place it all begins is in a secret place with the Great Physician. It turns out a lot of things begin there.

 

5 thoughts on “It’s a Secret that You can Know

  1. thiedeann says:

    Thank you for sharing such good stuff from Him!

  2. You have no idea how much I needed to read this today. Thank you so much for sharing this, Laurie 🙂

  3. BJNeubauer says:

    This has got to be one of my all time favorite messages, Laurie. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

