Move It!!

What are the words that keep showing up in your life? What messages seem to be on repeat? Do you find yourself in a cycle that seems to never end? Have you talked to God about those things? Do you find yourself talking to Him about the same things over and over and over?

I’ve learned over the past 6 or 7 years that God really does still communicate with His people. He communicates with us thru his written word AND directly thru any number of ways. He speaks to us thru people we are close to. He speaks to us thru teachers and preachers. He speaks to us thru nature. He speaks to us thru dreams. He plants thoughts and ideas in our hearts and minds. He whispers in our ear. We just have to be listening and paying attention.

I say I’ve learned this over the past 6 or 7 years because that is how long it has taken me to let that truth sink in. That is how long it has taken me to begin to really trust what I am hearing. That is how long it has taken me to really trust that He really wants to speak directly to me. That is how long it has taken this truth to sink into my soul and take root. I have by no means arrived either. I am still in the process of learning all the ways He wants to communicate with me. I am still learning to trust Him to answer me when I call on Him. I am still learning to trust that the still small voice is His and not something I’ve conjured up in my pondering mind. I am still learning to be still long enough to hear Him. I still fight the urge to go looking for the answers. I still fight the urge to think something up. I still fight the urge to move ahead before I’ve really waited to hear from Him.

I’m still circling plenty of mountains that stand between me and Him.

In fact, I have a mountain range that needs to be conquered.

Mountains…

That is where I was when I sat down to write this post.

Mountains and words from God…

When I start becoming aware of what God is speaking to me it is usually after He has spoken about that thing for a while. He has usually been highlighting the same message for days before I realize what He was saying to me. It usually takes that long for me to perk up and listen. Sometimes I think something in my knower knew it was Him the first time He spoke, but I wasn’t ready or willing to move from my stubborn place. Sometimes I think He just wants to drive a point deeper into my heart so He keeps repeating himself. Sometimes I think He knows what He is about to say and wants to prime the pump of my ears.

Back to mountains…

In the past week or so God has been highlighting mountains to me and what I am choosing to do with them. I’m not talking about the beautiful mountain pictures I’ve seen people posting on Facebook from their summer vacations. Although, maybe I’ll go back and look at those and see if there isn’t something in them that God wanted me to notice during this time of mountain talk. Even as I write this I’m becoming aware of some discussions about mountains that I have dismissed over the past month or so that may actually hold some revelation for me.

Last week a friend, who I have given permission to speak into my life, was very direct with me about a mountain I keep circling in my life. She’s been very loving and patient with me but knew it was time to call me up and out of a cycle that was getting me nowhere fast. With permission to speak, she spoke with precision. As I was taking her words into account and talking to God about them I found Him removing some defenses that I have built up in my life. I don’t know what happens to you when your defenses begin to come down, but I begin to come undone. The things behind those defenses begin to leak out of eyes. I’m having to learn to let that happen, but that is another post. My close friends call it my secret cry. I found out a few weeks ago that they all knew but where just letting me pretend my cries were a secret.

Fast forward a couple of days…

I was attending a bible study entitled “Battle Plans”. Let me just say that if you are seeking divine strategy in your life and you get invited to a study that speaks to the very things you know are issues in your life, GO! God has something for you there! If the people hosting the study are God-fearing, God hearing men or women…pay attention! If they are more interested in you hearing from God than from them…you will not be disappointed. God will have something to say directly to you. He will highlight it in the message. He will send someone to your space to say something that resonates with your heart as a word from God. If they offer prayer ministry…go get some. God loves to speak to and thru people who are talking and listening to Him.

So…God had plenty to say to me during the message that spoke to my heart. Then it was time for worship and a time of prayer ministry. My neck has been bothering me but I hadn’t told anyone at the study. I’ve intended to get to the chiropractor but just haven’t made it there yet. A woman at our table was quietly praying for me and the woman next to me and stopped and asked if one of us was dealing with some physical pain. I told her about my neck pain, so she began praying for that. It didn’t really feel a lot better after they prayed, so she brought another woman over to join her. Yes, its legal to keep praying if someone isn’t healed the first time you pray. Jesus did it with the blind guy whose site was only partially healed the first time Jesus prayed for him. They prayed together and then the woman who was called over knelt down to share what she had seen while she was praying.

She told me about a painting that someone had painted during a session a week before that she was part of. The women that run this bible study are involved in a painting ministry where people listen to God and then paint a picture on a canvas of what He has placed on their heart. Many of the paintings seem to be abstract, however, God is using the seemingly random images, lines and colors to speak deep truth into these people’s hearts. Apparently He is also multi-tasking and using the images to speak to others. 🙂

You may have already figured out where I’m going…

Yes, God showed her a painting of a mountain…

She shared with me a painting that He brought to her mind of a mountain that was covered in blue as if it was completely submerged in water. She shared with me how a mountain covered in water could be passed by swimming over the top of it. There would be no need to climb it. In fact, you would not really even be aware of the mountains existence if it is covered in water.

Like other words I’ve received as being from God, I’ve been chewing on this one having no doubt it was a message from Him. I was wondering if He would tell me to swim over my mountain. I was wondering what the water might represent. Could it represent swimming in His love? Could it represent being covered by the Holy Spirit?  Then a verse came to mind…

23 “Truly[a] I tell you, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in their heart but believes that what they say will happen, it will be done for them. – Mark 11:23

And this…

20 He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”  – Matthew 17:20

While I was looking up those verses I also found this one about His protection…

1 God is our refuge and strength,
    an ever-present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
    and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
    and the mountains quake with their surging.[c]

There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
    the holy place where the Most High dwells.
God is within her, she will not fall;
    God will help her at break of day.
Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
    he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

The Lord Almighty is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Come and see what the Lord has done,
    the desolations he has brought on the earth.
He makes wars cease
    to the ends of the earth.
He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
    he burns the shields[d] with fire.
10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth.”

11 The Lord Almighty is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our fortress. – Psalm 46

So why am I blogging about this today? I’m blogging about this today because I asked the Holy Spirit for something to write about today. I haven’t blogged in a couple of days because I haven’t been feeling inspired and I didn’t want to just spill words onto a page. I asked Him for something to say and then He highlighted these verses…

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct[a] your paths. – Proverbs 3:5-6

I have a study bible that had a note about that word “direct”. According to the notes that word means to “straighten out”. The notes stated that God will “straighten out” the path of His devoted, trusting servants. Immediately I thought about the path I’ve taken around those mountains that keep leading me in circles. I thought about parts of my journey that have been anything but straight. It is then that I was able to connect the dots for a divine strategy with these mountains.

Stand in faith and authority to command those mountains to move.  Trust in the God of Heaven for protection and direction and there will be no need to circle those mountains.  He will make a straight path right thru the very thing I am trying to avoid by going in circles.

Thank you Lord for the ways you speak to and thru your people!!

6 thoughts on “Move It!!

  1. kellypatt2 says:

    I don’t know you, but I saw that Anne Ashton shared your link and I was drawn to your blog. At first the “mountain” theme wasn’t resonating. I love the picture and I have huge obstacles, but it just wasn’t what God has been bringing to me lately. I’ve been getting “crooked paths”, “direct paths” , “God will straighten crooked paths” and even “connecting the dots”. Today I envisioned see one dot (me) and one dot (God), and one straight line (Christ). As I got to the bottom of your blog, I started seeing your references to God straightening crooked paths, then you even referred to “connecting the dots”. I love seeing God work this way. Now I really need to re-read your blog and process. 🙂

  2. kellypatt2 says:

    May it’s not a different subject. Maybe I’m just seeing the straight line and simply ignoring the mountain. I need to continue processing because some of your blog is what I’ve been getting over and over, “word for word”.

    • Laurie Wade says:

      Something I find really interesting is that where I ended…the verse in Proverbs and my thoughts on that was actually where I started as I sat down to right today and if I understand you correctly, that is the part of the post that resonated with you? I really think that’s cool how He did that. :))

  3. kellypatt2 says:

    Yes, exactly…and absolutely word for word….It’s like He was saying when He connects the dots, it will be a straight line. Along the same line, I had realized earlier that a straight line (flatline) on a heart monitor signals death, and that maybe when we truly die to self, then Christ is alive in us to make our paths straight. So we both started from different place, but ended up in the same place…a straightened (by God) path to Him. I am going on vacation with no computer but will be mulling this with my bible on my trip. Interesting stuff!!

Leave a Reply

