Prescription for Today

Have you ever tried looking thru an outdated pair of prescription glasses after your eyes have fully adjusted to the new ones? Even though that old prescription used to serve you well and was once the one that made you marvel at the detail you had been missing in life up to that point, somehow they just don’t work anymore. It’s pretty hard to focus if you aren’t looking at life thru the newest prescription.

I realized this week that I’ve viewed parts of my life thru some old lenses. They were lenses that served me well in a past season. They were lenses that gave me clarity in a past season. They were lenses that helped me see the things in front of me that I needed to see to get to today.
They were lenses that fit the needs in my life at that time.

But I’ve been given new lenses and a new season. I’ve been placed on a new path. Over the course of time I’ve received an upgrade in my vision to go with my new set of circumstances. I was made for such a time as this and given a set of lenses made specifically for what I’d need to see today.

I think it may be what happens when you move in that space from glory to glory. Unlike most of our prescription glasses that need a stronger and stronger lens, I think the sight in glory to glory gets clearer as piece after piece of a veil is removed. As layer after layer of the old man is replaced with who God designed us to be, we see clearer. If we keep putting those old things back over our eyes, we can’t see well in the new life He has given us. It becomes distorted.

I don’t know what happens to you when you try to look at new things thru old lenses, but I well up with insecurities. I begin to see what’s wrong instead of a clear picture of God’s goodness He is trying to show me. I begin to judge my present thru the filters of my past and they become distorted. I begin to place myself in the middle of today’s circumstances as the person I used to be instead of the person I am. I default to the old instead of the new. I try to insert myself into places in my current circumstances that aren’t my place in this season and wonder why I feel so awkward there.

I am in a new season. I have a new place. I have new lenses. God has a plan and purpose for me that is different from the ones I served in before. Sure I’m still me. I still have the same skills and talents. I’m still the me He created me to be but I’m becoming that with greater clarity and with new purpose.

Lord, thank you for the new lenses. Thank you for reminding me to pick them up and use them. Without them I may miss seeing all that you have given me today.

Leave a Reply

