Because I Believe and Love Him

Do you want to see miracles? Do you want to experience the manifest power of the Holy Spirit? Do you want to operate in the gifts of the Holy Spirit? If you answered yes to these questions, why? These are questions I have asked myself lately. These are questions I would answer yes to. These are, frankly, relatively new questions for me. Maybe they are new questions for you. Maybe they are questions you’ve never considered.

The “why” seems to keep popping up as I dive deeper into each one of these questions for my life. The “why” seems to come out in conversations I have with others who believe and walk in these things. The “why” seems to come up when talking to people who don’t believe in these things.

Did you know Herod wanted to see miracles?

Now when Herod saw Jesus, he was exceedingly glad; for he had desired for a long time to see Him, because he had heard many things about Him, and he hoped to see some miracle done by Him. – Luke 23:8

I thought it was pretty interesting when I read that this morning. It jumped off the page at me. Herod! He wanted to see miracles? I wonder who else wanted to see miracles that would surprise me. As I was writing this it occurred to me that the Pharisees spent a good deal of time following Jesus around. It seems to me they wanted to catch Him doing miracles.

So…why do I want these things? Why do I want to see miracles and experience His manifest power? Is it just for the thrill of the moment? Is that what it was for Herod? Do I just want His stuff? Am I treating Him like a vending machine or the great magician? Is it all just for a supernatural thrill? Do I just want to feel better about what I confess to believe?

Why did Jesus ever perform miracles? He wanted us to believe he was who He said he was. He wanted us to know the Father. He did them out of love and compassion. These are a few of the reasons that come to mind. I’m sure you could find more in the gospels.

So why would He still perform miracles today? He is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow, so why wouldn’t He.

Then why would I want these things? What would be my motivation? What should be my motivation? Some things come to mind…a relationship with Him…a relationship with the Father…time with Him…time in His Presence…love for Him…love for others…compassion…abundant life today. I don’t want to be like Herod and just want to see the miracles. I don’t want to be a Pharisee and just follow Jesus around to catch Him in the act. I don’t want to be like the demons who believe in God and tremble. I want to be like Mary who worships at His feet because she loves Him and believes Him and in Him.

I want to actually be one of the believers He talked about in Mark 16.

17 And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues;

18 They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover. – Mark 16:17-18

That is why…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

