Who has the change?

What do you think about change? I’m not talking about that stuff you find between the cushions on the couch or under the seat in your car mixed with the petrified French fries. I’m talking about real transformation. I’m talking about the kind you read about in books or hear about from a platform at church. I don’t know about you, but I tend to be a bit of a cynic when it comes to believing in real, lasting change in a person. I know I’m not supposed to be a cynic. I don’t want to be a cynic. I pray against being a cynic. But, if I’m going to be honest…

I’m drawn to freedom. I’m drawn to people who teach freedom. I’m drawn to people who have found freedom. I’m drawn to people who live free. I even pray for others to be free. I’m drawn to freedom because I want to be free. I’m drawn to freedom because I want for my girls to be free. I want for my husband to be free. Free people are just more fun to be around! I live in the land of the free for crying out loud!

What does freedom have to do with change and if we live in the land of the free, which most of my readers do (except the ones who find my blog when I sarcastically post something about illegal drugs just to see how many countries I can get to click onto my blog), why do we even need to be talking about freedom? We have freedom of speech, freedom of religion, freedom of choice and more choices than people living in most of the world. In less than 2 months we will celebrate freedom as a country.

We need to talk about freedom because even in the land of the free many people still need freedom. They don’t need freedom to move about the country. There are cars and airlines for that. We need freedom from something deeper. We need freedom to be who God made us to be. We need freedom to move past all the man-made substitutes for freedom into real freedom with God, the Author of freedom. We need freedom from the lies someone has told us about who we are or who we are to become. We need freedom from the agreements we have made throughout our lives about what we can and cannot do and who we can and cannot be in this life. I’m sorry, but some of us even need freedom FROM religion so that we can be free in our relationship with the ONE we sometimes substitute religion for. And when I say we I mean WE. You AND me!

So, where do we start? What is the first step? What is the formula? There is a formula, right? There are 12 easy steps, right? I heard there were, somewhere. Or maybe it was a list of 5 or 6 things I needed to do? Or was it just one simple prayer that I needed to recite? Oh, I know, it was a group I needed to join or a class I need to attend or a great retreat or conference that would set me free. If I just try a little harder, read a little more, attend the right church or the right workshop or the right….

As cliché as this is about to sound, it is true. It begins with HIM! It really does! It begins with the number one answer I have received from the spiritual mentors in my life. The wording may be a little different, but the answers can always be summed up, “Ask Him”. The mentors who really speak freedom into my life all know that any answer they give out of their arsenal is likely to just be another set of formulas for me. They know it is likely to just create another place of striving to do or be or become something on my own. BUT, if HE gets involved. If HE supplies the answers! Look out! He doesn’t give formulas. He doesn’t give 5 or 12 easy steps! He does offer a process, but it is as unique as the prints on our fingers!

Do I believe in freedom? Do I believe in change? Yes and yes! I’ve seen it. I’ve read about it. I know some people whose lives have been completely transformed by a VERY good and loving God. Do I still have to fight for freedom in my life? Do I still have to fight a voice that tells me people don’t ever really change? Yes and yes! And fight I will!

Zebras may always have stripes but people can be transformed by a MIGHTY God and change isn’t just something you dig out of your purse to buy a pack of gum.

Leave a Reply

