Spinning in His Arms

I’ve posted Oceans by Hillsong United more than once on this blog over the past few months, I think. I haven’t actually looked back to see. I know I’ve used it at least once in a post. It’s been on my heart and mind a lot. It’s become one of my favorites over the past year. I love the story of Peter stepping out of the boat and walking on the water toward Jesus. I love that Jesus took his hand to rescue him from drowning when his faith wasn’t as big as he first thought when he stepped over the edge. This song brings that story to mind every time I hear it.

Several months ago I was worshipping Him with a group of friends at a retreat. With eyes closed and singing to Him with everything in me engaged, I found myself in His embrace on top of the waves as we danced and twirled. He had me safely in His arms and it was…well there are no words for it.

Yesterday I was listening to a new song, We Dance, by Bethel Worship and Steffany Frizzell Gretzinger and imagined myself right back in His arms spinning again. I recall a time in my life that spinning on the dance floor gave me great pleasure. I recall a particular guy whose favorite thing to do was spin around the dance floor for hours and I was happy to join him. I don’t recall his name or even what he looked like, I just recall the feeling of spinning for hours as the music played on.

That is what Jesus has called me to. A life on the dance floor spinning in His arms. Following His moves. Keeping in step with Him as the music plays. I seriously doubt if I could get around that dance floor like I used to. The spinning like that would likely land me on my butt in a dizzy heap if I could even make my feet keep up.

But this life with Him…in His arms…spinning on the waves…I’ll spin wherever He wants to go!

One thought on “Spinning in His Arms

  1. G says:

    HE is romantic!

Leave a Reply

