A Little Edgy

How sharp are the knives in your drawer? Do you have one of those sharpening tools? Do you have knives that can be sharpened? Would you know how to properly sharpen your knives if you had all the right tools? Have you ever heard the sound of someone sharpening a knife? Ouch! Sounds much like nails on a chalkboard to me.

… You know it’s a shame kids these days don’t get to experience that screeching sound you only get with a piece of chalk and a chalk board.  Smart boards just aren’t the same…

The knives in my kitchen are dreadfully dull. They look like steak knives and other knives useful for cutting and chopping, but I am sure my butter knives are better candidates for most jobs. I’d love to sharpen them, but they weren’t designed for that. This set of knives came with a serrated edge that never needed to be sharpened. That was a bit of false advertising.

Do you know any people like that? I’ve been that person with the serrated edge before that thought they were above the need for a bit of sharpening. I’ve been that person that was so confident in their ability to stay sharp on their own that they didn’t need any outside help. I’ve known people who were so sure of it that they locked themselves away from any outside influences because they were sure they could do it on their own. I was wrong! They were wrong!

17 As iron sharpens iron,
    so one person sharpens another. – Proverbs 27:17

Thankfully God opened my eyes and gave me a new edge, one that could be sharpened. Thankfully He sent people into my life with the right tools to skillfully rub up against that edge. Thankfully He even sent people into my life who rubbed up against that edge unknowingly with their own rugged exteriors and improved the sharpness to my edge.

God has also done something else with the friends he placed in my life to sharpen me. He has allowed them to wound me. I’m not talking about the kind of soul wound that cuts so deep you think you may die. I’m talking about the kind of wound that sets off healing. The kind of truth spoken in love that hurts because it is actually getting down to a wound in your soul that needs to be opened to be healed. I’m talking about the words spoken in love with a boldness you can’t miss because you know they are from Him and you know they come from a place of love.

Wounds from a friend can be trusted,
    but an enemy multiplies kisses. – Proverbs 27:6

Those kinds of words can only be spoken by friends who know and love and support you on your best of days AND your worst of days. Those kinds of words can only be spoken by friends you trust with your heart. They can only come from a friend who carries themselves with grace and compassion and love. They can only come from someone who has walked the road with you and knows your journey. They can only come from someone who is on their own journey with Him and knows and stewards well the power of iron and salt.

Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone. – Colossians 4:6

 

One thought on “A Little Edgy

  1. thiedeann says:

    Good stuff, Laurie. My husband’s mom gave him the hone his daddy used to use to sharpen my knives. And after sharpening, they sure can wound! So glad for the iron of love in your life!

Leave a Reply

