Better than a Win

A few weeks ago I told one of the other softball moms that it was really a good thing that I was doing this softball mom thing in my mid 40’s instead of my mid 20’s.  I think God knew what he was doing when he had me wait to get married and then to have kids. Well, like He doesn’t ALWAYS know what he is doing.

My competitive 20-something year old self would not have been able to keep her mouth shut during a blown call or a missed play.  My competitive 20-something year old self would not have enjoyed a weekend of losses. Yes, I would love to see these girls win, don’t get me wrong. It was a lot more fun watching the games they were actually competitive in than the ones that they barely played with their eyes open. But I can honestly say this was a great weekend even though we didn’t win a single game.

Why was a softball tournament weekend without a single mark in the win column fun?

Because I got to see things like this all weekend!

20140330-192015.jpg

It was great to watch Gracie braiding her big sister’s hair.  It was great to watch Emily supporting her sister all weekend.  It was great to watch the two of them head off together to watch other teams play during the breaks. It was great to eat out with the family and listen to the conversations and laughter about the weekend’s events. Everyone supported each other this weekend. Just like a family should.

Yes, I’m ready to see our girls hit the win column. I have no doubt that day is coming soon!

But tonight, I couldn’t me more proud of those two girls who live under my roof and call me mom. They were a joy to spend the weekend with…and that handsome fella wasn’t too bad either. 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

