Better than a Colon Cleanse

I’ve pondered legalism and skepticism this morning.  Very uplifting subjects, I know.  I took a break from that and opened my bible reading app to the next chapters in my reading plan…which I’m behind on.  Great!  Leviticus!  This is going to be relevant…

Then this verse jumps off the page at me…

You are to wash the internal organs and the legs with water, and the priest is to burn all of it on the altar. It is a burnt offering, a food offering, an aroma pleasing to the Lord. (Leviticus 1:9)

Immediately a verse I was reading and thinking about a few days ago came to mind…

27 “Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you are like whitewashed tombs which indeed appear beautiful outwardly, but inside are full of dead men’s bones and all uncleanness. (Matthew 23:27)

That sacrifice being offered in Leviticus was about to be burned up on the altar, yet they were to clean up its insides? It got me to thinking about my life and the kind of life Jesus offers me and desires for me. He desires a laid down life. He desires for me to offer myself to Him as a living sacrifice….and He wants to clean me up on the inside. It doesn’t matter what I look like on the outside if I haven’t allowed Him to do his work on the inside. You may not know, but He sure does!

18 “Come now, let us settle the matter,”
    says the Lord.
“Though your sins are like scarlet,
    they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red as crimson,
    they shall be like wool. (Isaiah 1:18)

Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
    wash me, and I will be whiter than snow. (Psalm 51:7)

 

Leave a Reply

