Power surge on my tongue

21 Death and life are in the [b]power of the tongue,
And those who love it will eat its fruit. – Proverbs 18:21

What do you think about when you read this verse? What kinds of sermons have you heard preached with this verse? What kinds of devotionals have you read? I seem to recall a lot of sermons and devotionals that focus on the death part of this verse. They have primarily centered on what not to do with our tongue. They have focused on how destructive our tongue is if we use it wrong. They have been true, but lacking.

What if we stopped focusing on the destruction our words could be causing and focused on the life they could be bringing to our lives and the lives of those around us? What if we used our God-given allotment of words to speak blessings and declarations of His promises over our lives and those living around us? What if we stopped being afraid that we might get someone’s hopes up if we speak God’s promises over them even if their fulfillment isn’t clear right now? What if we called people up to a higher place and calling by speaking to them about who God made them and not who they are acting like?

I know there are some who get a little nervous about declarations. There are some who get a little cautious because they don’t want to get too close to the “health and wealth” gospel. I understand. I’m not saying that just because you declare you are a millionaire that you are going to fall into a pit full of brand new $100 bills. I’m not suggesting God is a vending machine and you just have to make your selections and speak them into existence and voilà there you go. I do not believe that at all. I do believe that somewhere along the way we have thrown the baby out with the bath water. I do believe we have become more sure of what is not than what will be. I think we who profess faith may have a lot less faith than we should. I think we declare a lot more based on sight than on faith.

What would happen if we started using our words to declare faith in what He has already said? Would we look like a bunch of people running around with rose-colored glasses? Would our worlds be changed for the better? Would circumstances change? Would more light dispel the darkness? Would we get to enjoy the fruit produced by those words of life? He says we will!

I think I’ll start looking for declarations in His word that I want for my life and those I love. I think I’ll start speaking to those hidden places in others that are seeds from Him that are just waiting for someone to water. I think I’ll start believing that words of life have power and bear fruit. Did you know you can do that? Did you know all you have to do is ask Him to highlight a scripture that He wants to breathe into your life? Did you know His words are the most powerful words of life you could ever speak over yourself or someone else? Did you know there is even an App for that?

Seriously, there is an app called iDeclare by Todd Hudson. It has a daily declaration based on a scripture in God’s word. I don’t know about you, but if I can spend hours on my phone looking up bits of information about this and that, I think I can check in and speak a declaration or two over my life.

Here is the one for today:

“I declare that today God is binding up all of my wounds and curing every pain and sorrow. I am not a victim, I am a victor!”

He heals the brokenhearted
And binds up their [a]wounds. – Psalm 147:3

What words are on your tongue?

3 thoughts on “Power surge on my tongue

  1. G says:

    “SPEAK LIFE”….. Toby Mac

  2. I really was inspired by your post on the subject of the tongue. I have read several dozens of post and articles on this subject, and I must confess, yours is simply one of my favourite. Thanks also for letting us know of the iDeclare application. I wish to always hear from you.

Leave a Reply

