Misunderstood Understanding

I prayed for peace today and God reminded me that He gives peace that passes understanding. That was good news to my spirit because there are many things in life that I don’t understand. Some are just unimportant things like why do we have to spend so much time rehashing what happened to Nancy 20 years ago? Or why is an orange called an orange but a lemon isn’t called a yellow? Some are weightier like why do people have to suffer from cancer? Why do bad things happen to good people who are praying against them? Some are just questions about life circumstances that I am still watching and waiting to unfold. I do tend to get a little anxious waiting on the answers to things that just need time to develop. I don’t understand why it takes so long sometimes!! (Like more than a minute.)

Have you ever been there? Have you ever asked God for direction or an answer to one of the mysteries of life in your domain and then wanted the answer NOW before all the pieces had time to fall into place?

I decided to look up the verse He brought to mind.

7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:7

Wait a minute! It doesn’t say it transcends all misunderstanding. It transcends all understanding. If it’s even greater peace than the kind I have when I DO understand then it is really good peace! If it will guard my heart and my mind during those times, I really want it for the times I don’t understand. Those are the times I really need a guard on my heart and mind.

I really do want me some of that!!

2 thoughts on “Misunderstood Understanding

  1. ann martin says:

    I really wish I had more understanding about peace and all of the things you have mentioned today, Laurie maybe some day I will have. Keep up this good work. Laurie I love all of you. mom

Leave a Reply

