What are you singing?

Do any of you recognize this hymn? Did you ever sing it? Did you mean it when you sang it?

Freely, Freely

God forgave my sin in Jesus’ name.
I’ve been born again in Jesus’ name
And in Jesus’ name I come to you
To share his love as he told me to.

He said ‘Freely, freely you have received;, freely, freely give.
Go in my name, and because you believe others will know that I live.

All pow’r is giv’n in Jesus’ name
 in earth and heav’n in jesus name
And in Jesus’ name I come to you
 To share his pow’r as he told me to.

He said ‘Freely, freely you have received;, freely, freely give.
Go in my name, and because you believe others will know that I live.

God gives us life in Jesus’ name
he lives in us in Jesus’ name
And in Jesus’ name I come to you
To share his peace as he told me to.

 Do you know what you were singing? Have you ever read the scripture that inspired this song?

Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy,[a] drive out demons. Freely you have received; freely give. – Matthew 10:8

I know what you are going to say. He was talking to the Apostles. Okay. I’d be curious what would happen to our belief systems and churches and doctrines if we removed EVERYTHING he said to the Apostles because it’s not relevant to us today. How do we decide what to keep and what to leave behind? How do we decide to make a song out of half a verse because it is relevant, but the first half isn’t?

This question has been on my mind for a while now. I don’t know the answers. I’m sure I could get way in over my head on either side of the argument. I just know I’ve seen more than one place in scripture like this were we pull out what is easy, comfortable, understandable and somewhat controllable and make a nice song out of it. I know we build entire doctrines around parts of a scripture or passage and discount the rest as irrelevant. I say we because I am confident we all do this on some level.

I still like the song. This song brings back fond memories of a summer spent traveling with a chorus and drama team with my youth group. We meant what we were singing. I just don’t know if we had ANY idea what kind of power we were actually singing about. I wonder if “power” and “believe” meant far more than we gave them credit for when we sang this song.

Leave a Reply

