Music Monday: Yes, THAT!

The preacher promised a message that would tell us what it takes to be called a man after God’s own heart. Great! I would finally know the secret. With pen and paper in hand, I was ready to receive.  Ready, set….

22 After removing Saul, he made David their king. God testified concerning him: ‘I have found David son of Jesse, a man after my own heart; he will do everything I want him to do. – Acts 13:22

Say YES to EVERYTHING God tells you to do…

We got a chance to make declarations at the end of the message. They provided an open mic for anyone who wished to use the power of their words to declare something they were going to do that God had placed on their hearts. It was a powerful night knowing that the truth of God’s word and will were being declared. There was no doubt that territory was being taken in the Kingdom last night. Life was being declared!

The tongue has the power of life and deathand those who love it will eat its fruit. – Proverbs 18:21

And I sat…

There wasn’t time for all the people who stood in line to make a declaration. Plenty of people sat.

I sat because I wasn’t ready to submit to the thing God placed on my heart. I needed to have a discussion with God about it first. I needed to tell Him all the reasons it just wouldn’t be a good idea. I needed to negotiate with Him. I had some explaining to do. Surely He didn’t know everything I know. Surely He didn’t mean what he was saying. Surely He didn’t mean to ask me to do THAT.

He will do everything I want him to do…

And there it was again…

That word…that one word…SUBMIT.

It is one thing to take pen and paper to a great message. It is quite another to stand up and be a man or woman after God’s own heart.

Leave a Reply

