Motivation Check

Do you blog?  Do you want to blog?  Why do you blog?  What motivates you?  What are your goals for your blog?  Do you have an editor for your posts?  Did you know double spacing between sentences went out with the typewriter?  Why do you share so much?  People share too much.

These are all things that have been asked or discussed in the past couple of weeks somewhere within my sphere of influence.  They have set me to pondering.  I have wondered why I take the time to put my thoughts out for the world, or the dozen or so followers to see.  I have wondered what I want to do with the blog to improve it.  I have wondered what I could do to bring more regular readers to my site.

This year I’ve also had the word “authentic” at the front of my mind.  I’ve been paying attention to when and where it shows up online and in conversations.  As a result, I’ve also been paying attention to the motive behind things that I do and say.  Yesterday I mentioned a book that I am in the middle of reading.  Today the following list of questions were presented as a checklist for things you are sharing with an audience larger than your intimate circle:

Why am I sharing this?

What outcome am I hoping for?

What emotions am I experiencing?

Do my intentions align with my values?

Is there an outcome, response, or lack of a response that will hurt my feelings?

Is this sharing in the service of connection?

Am I genuinely asking the people in my life for what I need?

I don’t intend to stop blogging anytime soon, but I do intend to ask myself a few more questions before I hit the publish button.  I desire for my blog to be transparent and authentic and a blessing to those who read it.  It is as much a journal as it is a blog so it is important that I keep the above list of questions in mind as I share my private thoughts for you to read.

What about you?  Do any of those questions resonate as something you may need to pay attention to before you hit publish on your next post?

Happy Blogging and Happy Reading!

(Questions taken from Daring Greatly by Brene’ Brown)

2 thoughts on “Motivation Check

  1. thiedeann says:

    Thoughtful blog, Laurie. Putting my thoughts out there is a huge challenge. When I wrote before, I shared with only a few and asked for feedback. It’s a different story putting it out there for any of my FB friends and those in Sparky’s to read. More than anything, I want to honor God with my blogs and touch lives. Sometimes it seems I fall flat. But I’ve had to look hard at that and not let response or lack of motivate me. The people pleaser in me can try very hard to interfere. There have been weeks I’ve wanted to just drop out, thinking my blogging is going nowhere. Those are the times I have to evaluate my motivation. Well, how’s that for sharing with you?!

Leave a Reply

