Suck It Up!

This weekend the preacher said the book has all the answers we need.  He said the book has the breath of God in it.  He said the book has everything we need to know for any situation we find ourselves in.  He said if we find ourselves in a situation that we don’t know how to handle we haven’t been spending enough time in the book.  He suggested we should inhale the book so that when it is time to exhale, we will have something of true value to give to others.  He didn’t say, “Suck it up!”, but he could have.  I would have!  🙂

I found myself needing to suck it up last night….

37 All you need to say is simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one. – Matthew 5:37

I’ve been trying to do this one…mostly unsuccessfully.  Let your yes be yes and your no be no.  I’ll admit I’ve mostly been focused on the no being no.  I realized yesterday that I haven’t been any better letting my yes be yes.  Um, yes, I’m talking about my parenting style.  Not only can I get sucked into an argument or justification of my “no” quicker than you can pick out my misspelled words and misuse of grammar, but I seldom just say “yes” without some additional instruction or disclaimer for the “yes”.  Yikes, nothing like sucking the fun out of a yes.  Nothing like turning a “yes” into a “well…maybe…not really but okay”.  Is it a yes or isn’t it?  Is it a no or isn’t it?  Seems I’ve done a good bit of letting my yes and my no be “Maybe, let’s see who can out argue who before I decide for real.”  Um, yeah, that does create a GREAT deal of angst for everyone involved.  It does stir up anger and fire in the belly and not the kind of fire any of us really want to experience.

“Would a wise person answer with empty notions
or fill their belly with the hot east wind?
Would they argue with useless words,
with speeches that have no value? – Job 15:2-3

“I have heard many things like these;
you are miserable comforters, all of you!
Will your long-winded speeches never end?
What ails you that you keep on arguing? –  Job 16:2-3

“What ails you that you keep on arguing?”  That is a great question.  I was asked a similar question last night…not in those exact words…but that is really the question.  I find myself asking that question of the one I am trying to convince with my arguing…because it is wise counsel that I am giving…you know!  The truth is…I really should be asking myself that question.  I really have some things to take to the One who REALLY has the answers I need.  The One who really does have the control and the solutions.

14 Do everything without grumbling or arguing, 15 so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.”[c] Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky 16 as you hold firmly to the word of life. And then I will be able to boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor in vain. – Philippians 2:14-16 NIV

14-16 Do everything readily and cheerfully—no bickering, no second-guessing allowed! Go out into the world uncorrupted, a breath of fresh air in this squalid and polluted society. Provide people with a glimpse of good living and of the living God. Carry the light-giving Message into the night so I’ll have good cause to be proud of you on the day that Christ returns. You’ll be living proof that I didn’t go to all this work for nothing. – Philippians 2:14-16 The Message

There it is…the reason yes and no are so hard to let stand…second-guessing!  There is what I want my words to be…a breath of fresh air!  There is the solution…provide her with a glimpse of good living AND of the living God.  I can’t do any of those things while grumbling and arguing.  I don’t look any different…my faith doesn’t look authentic when I’m doing that…not to her it doesn’t.

One thought on “Suck It Up!

  1. thiedeann says:

    How our God loves you…and her! He’s also gifted you with humor. It is a powerful tool. Takes the bite out of many things.

Leave a Reply

