Music Monday: Pioneers and Narrow Roads

“Sew into those who will know the glory of the narrow road.” – Rick Pino

This past Thursday and Friday I was blessed to attend an event that hosted Heidi Baker and Georgian Banov as the speakers and Rick Pino as the worship leader. It was an incredible two nights of celebrating Jesus and considering the JOY and cost of following Jesus in this life. These are three sold out lovers of Jesus. I don’t guess it is possible to be in an environment where they are worshipping and not catch some of that fiery passion. His love just seems to pour out of them. And as passionate as they are, they don’t hide the fact that truly following Him will come at a cost. A documentary of Heidi Baker’s journey was recently released that details her journey and the cost of being sold out to Him. It’s called Compelled by Love and I’d highly recommend it.

The first night I found myself completely distracted during the worship time. Mostly I was distracted by the things on my heart that I want to see happen in my family. Who doesn’t want good things for their families, especially the children they have brought into this world? I know who can see that they are blessed and so I spent a good deal of the worship time talking to Him about them. My heart wasn’t burdened by their physical needs. I was feeling a burden for their spiritual needs. I was feeling a burden for the path they will one day have to choose on their own. The paths they are choosing now.

Then Rick began playing The Narrow Road. It resonated with me for so many reasons. It was as if God was speaking to me right in that moment. I don’t know how you feel about the scripture that talks about the narrow road. It has always been a very sobering scripture to me. I know of people who have been paralyzed by the scripture. I know of people who have used that scripture to paralyze others. It’s a great example of a misuse of scripture by the enemy. I hate it when he shuts God’s people down by using scripture!

13 “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it. – Matthew 7:13-14

The road that leads to LIFE. That is the road I hope to find my family walking. That is the road I hope to see my children choose. That is the road I want to walk with all of YOU! That is what I was doing that night…sewing into those precious girls of mine who WILL one day KNOW THE GLORY of the narrow road! And as I was soaking in that moment and those words, Rick began singing Pioneer. I’ve always loved this song, but coupled with the fresh thoughts on the narrow road…oh man…was it powerful.

I’ve never considered myself a Pioneer. I have a few friends that I would place in that category. Friends who inspire me. But what if we each have a narrow road to walk with God that is uniquely ours. What if we each have a destiny and calling that only we can fulfill? What if we don’t walk that path with Him? What if there is someone following behind you and me who won’t find their way onto the road unless we make the path thru the wilderness that we were meant to walk? I did go on a little journey thru the woods on my last camping trip and the path was narrow. There were all sorts of hazards if you got off the path. There were branches in the way you had to dodge or duck to go under. I don’t know, but I wouldn’t be surprised if there were creepy, crawly things hiding in the brush just beyond the narrow little path. Someone had been that way before, but not very many someone’s. It was narrow, but it got us to our destination.

Leave a Reply

