Reading with the Author

I bought the handsome fella a book for Christmas that I am looking forward to reading, Finding God in the Bible by Darren Wilson.  This part of the cover intrigues me, “What Crazy Prophets, Fickle Followers and Dangerous Outlaws Reveal About Friendship with God.”   No, I didn’t buy it for the fella just so I could read it…well…maybe. 😉 I do want to see what Darren has to say on the subject. I do think it will be fun to see what an author has to say about the God of the bible. I think many of us don’t really know Him very well. I think many of us have put him in a little box. I think many of us have man-sized him to fit OUR image. After all He did make us in His image so surely He is somehow like we are, right?

A few weeks ago I was given the challenge to get to know God and his character better thru the life and words of Jesus. I will be continuing on that journey in 2014 and will be doing my own searching for God in the Bible. I’ve committed to reading thru the bible in 2014 after a number of different prompts began to resonate as important for me in this coming year. I’ve tried and failed to complete this challenge before, but was always doing it just to say I’d done it. My focus had always been more of a thing to check off a list of religious accomplishments.

This year I’m excited about the challenge. I’m excited for the same reason I’m looking forward to digging into the Finding God book. I want to know more about the God of the whole bible, not just the one of a few verses. I want to know more about the God Jesus came to reveal, not the judgmental, angry God who is out to catch me in my sins.

This year as I read I’m asking the Holy Spirit to be my Guide. That should be fun to have him along on the journey thru the book that He inspired and breathed into existence. I have some things I’m looking for but am keeping an open mind and heart for the things He wants me to find.

If you are on a similar journey this year, I pray you receive all the revelation He has to offer. I pray it is as unique to you as the prints on your fingers. I do think He is just that good! I also pray that whatever your journey with God looks like in 2014 that it will bless your socks off and reveal more of who he is to you!

Happy New Year!

 

2 thoughts on “Reading with the Author

  1. thiedeann says:

    That is my heart’s desire. God has always blessed reading through His word. I’m praying to see it with new eyes, an open heart. Also, did you notice IT’S STILL SNOWING???!!!

Leave a Reply

