Run or Dye 2013

Four months ago the girls and I signed up for the Run or Dye 5K.  I had no idea how I was going to be ready to run in just 4 weeks when I hadn’t done any real running in 3 years.  I found a 4 week 5K training program online and hit the pavement.  There were a total of 16 runs I was supposed to complete in that 4 weeks in order to be ready to run.  I ran…then Thanksgiving week hit…I ran…then we had an icy winter blast…then I opened my eyes and it was time to run the 5K.  I actually only did 6 of the 16 runs I was supposed to do to get ready.  It turned out okay.  As it turned out this was a very laid back, fun, easy-going bunch of running peeps.  There were plenty of us out there just to enjoy the color and the cold crisp air.  I jogged some and walked some.  I ran across the finish line and thru all the dye stations.  The girls beat the moms, but the moms both ran across the finish line with the girls cheering us on.  I’d call that success…and I have some workouts left over…Bonus!

Here are some pics of the day!  I hope you enjoy them as much as we enjoyed living them!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

