Music Monday: What you can’t see…without Him

A couple of days ago I began reading thru a long list of scriptures that refer to spiritual vision in one way or another.  The list was sorted out using the words dream, vision, seer, look and eyes.  It has been an interesting and encouraging list to read thru.  I’m taking my time and allowing God to speak to me about what He wants me to see and understand about how He talks to us thru this avenue.

Today this one caught my breath…

13 Now it came about when Joshua was by Jericho, that he lifted up his eyes and looked, and behold, a man was standing opposite him with his sword drawn in his hand, and Joshua went to him and said to him, “Are you for us or for our adversaries?” 14 He said, “No; rather I indeed come now as captain of the host of the Lord.” And Joshua fell on his face to the earth, and bowed down, and said to him, “What has my lord to say to his servant?” 15 The captain of the Lord’s host said to Joshua, “Remove your sandals from your feet, for the place where you are standing is holy.” And Joshua did so. – Joshua 5:13-15

Can you imagine this scene unfolding in front of you?  I have heard the story of Moses and the burning bush all my life.  I clearly remember Moses being told to remove his sandals because he was standing on holy ground.  I decided to look and see if there were any other stories in scripture where a person was told to remove their shoes because the place they were standing was holy.  I only found the two stories.

Now Moses was pasturing the flock of Jethro his father-in-law, the priest of Midian; and he led the flock to the [a]west side of the wilderness and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. The angel of the Lord appeared to him in a blazing fire from the midst of [b]a bush; and he looked, and behold, the bush was burning with fire, yet the bush was not consumed. So Moses said, “[c]I must turn aside now and see this [d]marvelous sight, why the bush is not burned up.” When the Lord saw that he turned aside to look, God called to him from the midst of the bush and said, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.” Then He said, “Do not come near here; remove your sandals from your feet, for the place on which you are standing is holy ground.” He said also, “I am the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.” Then Moses hid his face, for he was afraid to look at God. – Exodus 3:1-6

Yes, the bare feet and the holy ground caught my attention and gave me a breathtaking view of the reverence God demands of His Presence.  It made me wonder if I pay that much respect to Him.  It made me long to stand in awe of Him.  It made me long to be as close to him as these two were.

But, the thing that REALLY made me breathless was the thought of what is around us in the unseen realm.  Joshua’s eyes were opened and he got to see who was fighting for Him.  He got to see who was standing right next to him…with sword drawn.  And when he discovered who he was…he couldn’t even remain standing.  And this isn’t the only place in scripture where a battle was going on and “someone” was fighting on behalf of a servant of God in an “unseen” realm.

15 Now when the attendant of the man of God had risen early and gone out, behold, an army with horses and chariots was circling the city. And his servant said to him, “Alas, my master! [e]What shall we do?” 16 So he [f]answered, “Do not fear, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.” 17 Then Elisha prayed and said, “O Lord, I pray, open his eyes that he may see.” And the Lord opened the servant’s eyes and he saw; and behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha. – 2 Kings 6:15-17

I don’t know about you, but I would love to see that.  I would love to look up and see who is fighting for me in a realm that I can’t see.  Just knowing that there is a battle going on that I can’t see is enough to make me breathless.  Knowing that I am not alone in the battles that I face causes me to want to remove my sandals and fall on my face.  Oh to actually see…

Leave a Reply

