Slowing down…in December?

As the month dedicated by some to all the things they are thankful for ends, another one begins dedicated to giving and receiving gifts.  At least that is what it looks like when you turn on the t.v. or the computer.  Well, unless you are bombarded by the videos of people acting like animals to save a buck or two on a toaster or a flat screen t.v. or some other electronic device.  Those people don’t really look very thankful or giving to me.  But then again, I don’t really know any of their stories, so how do I really know what is driving their behavior. It doesn’t appear to be coming from a very good place, but I really have no way of knowing without getting into their lives.  I do think, based on the videos, that I made the right decision in staying home.

I enjoyed spending a month looking for big and small things to be thankful for each day.  I think it’s a great way to go thru life.  I’m also looking forward to December and thinking of ways I can give back to all those who have blessed my life.  I’d also like to find some ways to give to those I don’t even know who could use a blessing that has no strings attached.  I love hearing those stories and would love to be on the giving end of one of those because I know what it is to receive such a blessing.

As November comes to a close I’m also looking forward to spending some time focusing on the coming King and the most important reason for this season.  I didn’t grow up Catholic and I’m not even sure if they are the only ones who celebrate and participate in Advent, but I love the tradition.  I love the intentional focus it creates.  I still don’t have any candles or anything “official” but I will be reading back thru a book I got a couple of years ago and following along on an Advent app…because there really is an app for everything.  I was in a different place on my journey the first time I read thru this book and found it to be a huge blessing.  I find myself needing to regroup in this season.  I’m not sure December with all the hustle and bustle is the best month to regroup, but I’m going to give it a try.

Something in my spirit says it’s time for a silent night…or two or three.

 

2 thoughts on “Slowing down…in December?

  1. Lisa says:

    No, Catholics are not the only ones who celebrate Advent. Many Protestant traditions include it.

Leave a Reply

