No more rope burns!

LET GO!

SURRENDER!

I commit myself to do those things…and then I feel the muscles in my hands begin to tighten.

I feel my fingers begin to bend and form a nice tight grip.

I begin to see the white peaks of my knuckles.

My hands need something to do.  My hands need something to hold.  You know the old saying…idle hands are the devil’s workshop.  Better get busy or he is going to give you something to do.  So we do…we get busy…we try…we work..we hold on for dear life…to that thing we are needing to let go of.

I hold onto the rope with my kids at the other end so I can snatch them back real fast.  I hold onto the rope that holds the basket of all the other thoughts and concerns of my life that I need to give to Him…I might need to do something with those so I don’t want to give them without being able to pull them back and work on them myself for a bit.

I need something to do with my hands besides tightly grip the things I’m letting go of…the things I am surrendering.

So…because it’s a novel idea I thought of all on my own…I asked Him what He wants me to hold in my hand.

The first thought was His hand…ah, that sounds nice, a nice long walk with my Daddy, holding His hand as we walk along the path.  Yeah, I like that idea.  I like the picture that flows into my consciousness of me and Him walking and talking in an open meadow, holding hands…

I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
    With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. – Psalm 16:8

Yet I am always with you;
    you hold me by my right hand. – Psalm 73:23

Now this I know:
    The Lord gives victory to his anointed.
He answers him from his heavenly sanctuary
    with the victorious power of his right hand. – Psalm 20:6

But there is a battle to fight.  There is a battle to win.  I am part of that battle.  I have been given a job to do.  I have a place and a purpose in the Kingdom.  Surely there is something else I need to be doing with my hands beside just holding onto Him for dear life….

Actually, He gave me another thought as quickly as He told me to hold onto to His hand…put on your armor.

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. – Ephesians 6:10-18

There it is…the shield of faith and the sword of the Spirit…looks to me like my hands are going to be a little too full to hold onto those things that I’m committed to let go of and surrender to Him.  I think I’d rather find myself in the tight grip of His hands holding the shield and the sword He has given me firmly in my hands than white knuckled holding onto a rope that is surely to give me blisters and rope burn when the limited strength in me gives way to the weakness.

Hmmm…I wonder if that rope could have something to do with the unraveling of things that no longer serve me or my place in His Kingdom…

 

Leave a Reply

