No justification required!

arguingIt’s not arguing if you are right is it?  Isn’t it my job to teach and explain and train up?  What if I’m right?  Don’t I have an obligation to explain my position?  If I am right and you are wrong don’t you want to know so that you can correct your thinking?

Uh, have you really ever changed someone’s mind by arguing with them?  Have you ever changed your child’s heart by getting into a battle of the tongues?  Do they listen to you when you engage them in the heat of battle with all your best information?

This morning I was doing some reading in Mark and a couple of stories caught my attention.  The first one caught my attention because of the way Jesus reacted when his authority was being questioned.  I don’t know about you, but if I was Jesus and someone started questioning my authority, I would be awfully tempted to lash out.  He is the son of God after all.  I am pretty sure my response might have been something like this…”Who do you think you are questioning me, I’m God!”  He didn’t do that.  Instead he came back with a question…”I will ask you one question, and you answer Me, and then I will tell you by what authority I do these things.  Was the baptism of John from heaven, or from men?  Answer me.” (Pretend words in quotes are red) 🙂  And then these men who were so inquisitive of Jesus’ authority froze.  They knew they were going to have to pick a side.  They knew that they were either going to have to admit who Jesus really was or risk discrediting John.  They wouldn’t pick a side.  So…Jesus opted not to argue and not to explain.  He simply refused to do either.  He knew there was no point.  AMAZING!

I continued to read while that truth rolled around in my head.  That is when I came to the story of Jesus’ arrest and interaction with Pilate.  He was being wrongfully accused.  He was the son of God being sent to his death.  He had a great case to argue with his accusers.  He would have been right.  But he didn’t.  He refused.  Another wow moment for me!  I don’t know about anyone else, but if I am wrongly accused of something the last thing my flesh wants to do is sit there and take it.  I want to defend.  I want to make my case.  I want to argue my position.

In both cases I would want to “explain”, “teach”, “instruct”…ARGUE!

Perhaps the next time I feel that voice of argument rise up within me I need to take a deep breath and find out what God wants me to say or NOT say.  Surely that is how Jesus was able to hold his tongue in both of these cases.  He did receives His directives from God.

Leave a Reply

