Thankful Thursday: He is still the same…expect it!

Apparently God wants me to stay in these thoughts about how I see things…

I’ve been doing a study by Bill Johnson titled Hosting the Presence.  This book and study has been everything I thought it would be including incredible.  It has helped me to see some things about life in the Kingdom from a totally new perspective.  It has increased an anticipation of just how close we can be to the God who set this whole thing in motion and then didn’t leave us.  I know not everyone believes that.  I know there are many people who believe He set it up and then left us to fend for ourselves.  I’ve lived parts of my life that way.  There are days I slip into that way of thinking and try to do this life on my own.  Heck, sometimes those days slip into weeks and months…and…

I think they call that being double minded….

If you had asked me if I believed that way I would have given you a resounding no.  I think many of us would.  But then I decided to take a really close look at the way I do life.  I started looking at the fruit of my life.  I started thinking about what I default to when things begin to heat up around me.  I started listening to the thoughts that run thru my head when there is something in front of me that needs to be accomplished.  I’d love to say that He is the first one I go to in every circumstance.  I’d love to say He is the one that directs ALL my steps.

It is one thing to say your life is in God’s hands.  It is one thing to say you allow your life to be directed by the Holy Spirit.  It is one thing to say you have given your whole heart to Jesus.  And then the rubber meets the road…

I may have never known the difference if God hadn’t reached down into my life to show me.  I may never have known there was more to the Christian life I was living if He hadn’t reached down and ordered the steps of others in my life who showed me there was more to this life than a few good Christian phrases and declarations.  I may have never known if others had not been living their lives sold out to a life with a God who is closer than your breath.

Seriously…have you ever really thought about the omnipresence of God and what that REALLY means.  Present EVERYWHERE…at the SAME time!  That means right now He is sitting here with me as I type this.  He is sitting there with you as you read it.  He is with me when I’m having a really good day and when I’m having a really bad one.  He is in the praises of His people and there in the darkest places on the planet.  He is in Heaven and hanging out down here on earth with you and me.  Yes, that could blow a mind if you REALLY think about it.

You know the God who manifested himself in the burning bush, thru the mouth of the donkey and on the mountain top in the Old Testament?  You know the Son who came to heal, deliver and set free?  You know the Holy Spirit who was given to guide, comfort, empower and seal us until the Son returns?  They never change!!!  They are still involved!  They are still doing the same things they have always done and always will do.  Let that sink in.

My last post was about a change in the way I am able to see things…physically and spiritually…and soon after that I received an unrelated email from a friend that included this scripture:

16 Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 17 For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 18 So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. – 2 Corinthians 4:16-18 (NIV)

There IS an unseen realm all around us.  We can see glimpses of it if we will just press in to Him.  He has invited us to that.  The great men of faith in the bible knew it was possible.  They expected it!

What do you expect to see?  What do you expect God to do in your life?  What kind of relationship do you expect to have with Him?

“What you expect can ruin what you receive.” – Kerrie Oles

Lord, forgive me for living on the edge of what you have for me.  Forgive me for living on the edge of who you are.  Forgive me for believing you are distant.  Thank you for not allowing me to stay there.  Thank you for inviting me into a greater revelation of who you are and WHERE you are.  Please continue to reveal yourself to me in ways that will blow my mind.

One thought on “Thankful Thursday: He is still the same…expect it!

Leave a Reply

