Music Monday: You have to choose it first

This week I ran across this verse while doing some reading about health…

19 I call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. So choose life in order that you may live, you and your [a]descendants, 20 by loving the Lord your God, by obeying His voice, and by holding fast to Him; for [b]this is your life and the length of your days, [c]that you may live in the land which the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give them.” – Deuteronomy 30:19-20

And the verse that quickly came to mind was…

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits. – Proverbs 18:21

And then I decided to look up some other verses about life…

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” – John 8:12

The fear of the LORD is a fountain of life, turning a man from the snares of death – Proverbs 14:27

Hmmm…I don’t know about you, but I like the promises in these verses based on what we choose.

I’ve been dealing with some health issues that are a direct result of choices I’ve made.  It turns out garbage in, garbage out is pretty accurate.

These verses make me wonder what life circumstances I may be dealing with right now that have come as the direct result of my choices, good or bad.  What blessings am I enjoying because of a choice I made?  What curses am I enduring because I didn’t make a conscious decision to choose the blessing?  What words have I spoken over my life or the life of those I love?  Where they words of life or death?  What about words of life or death have others spoken over me?

Today…once again…I choose life and blessing and choose to speak life over all I come in contact with!

 

Leave a Reply

