In other words…

24 And the servant of the Lord must not strive; but be gentle unto all men, apt to teach, patient,

25 In meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth;

26 And that they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken captive by him at his will. – 2 Timothy 2:24-26 KJV

Yes, I used the KJV above.  I don’t normally read my Bible using the King James, but a book I’m reading uses that version in all it’s references…and tonight…I’m glad they do.  I don’t find it to be an extremely easy version for me to read and understand most of the time which is why I seldom use it.  But something in verse 25 caught my eye…”instructing those that oppose themselves.”  I looked it up in other versions that are more familiar to me and found things like “correcting those who are in opposition”and  “correct his opponents”.  Those are the more familiar translations of this verse to me.  I wonder which is more accurate? The idea of correcting someone opposing themselves or opposing others?  Tonight, I’m thankful for a difference in the translations because I’m really good at the first one.

My translation might read…instructing those who are their own worse enemy.

I think it might actually fit!

But I would definitely have to look to another version for the meaning of the last part of verse 25…peradventure?  Thankfully there are other versions…God’s in charge of the repentance and the truth and the recovery.

Awesome!  I think I may have found my new favorite verse for this season…maybe for many seasons.

It just seems like a much kinder, gentler way to deal with others and myself….

One thought on “In other words…

  1. Victoria says:

    I love it! I love that God tells us to “instruct, in meekness” those that oppose themselves so that He can bring repentance to them so that they can acknowledge the truth! Love this!! Love how God so gently works on our hearts to be like Him in our interactions with other people!

Leave a Reply

