That is impossible…or is it?

What has God promised you?  Do you have faith that He will follow thru?  What if you can’t do a single thing to “help” Him out with that promise?  What if all you see in front of you is a really big obstacle of improbability by any earthly standards?  What if you’ve been given a promise that involves other people and you see no way they could actually play a role in fulfilling that promise?  Do you abandon them?  Do you pick someone else that seems more suited to the need?  Do you believe His promises even when you can’t see how He could possibly do that?  Do you believe in miracles, really?

I like to talk about God.  I like to say that I believe Him.  I most certainly believe in Him, but is there a difference in believing in Him and believing Him?  How often am I willing to stick my neck out and believe Him for a promise He has given me when all the odds appear stacked against me?  Am I willing to try the things He asks of me just to see what He might do if I exercised a little faith?

These were some of the things that were spinning around in my head yesterday after I read these scriptures…

18 Against the odds, Abraham’s hope grew into full-fledged faith that he would turn out to be the father of many nations, just as God had promised when He said, “That’s how many your descendants will be.”[e] 19 His faith did not fail, although he was well aware that his impotent body, after nearly 100 years, was as good as dead and that Sarah’s womb, too, was dead. 20 In spite of all this, his faith in God’s promise did not falter. In fact, his faith grew as he gave glory to God 21 because he was supremely confident that God could deliver on His promise. 22 This is why, you see, God saw his faith and counted him as righteous; this is how he became right with God.

23 The story of how faith was credited to Abraham was not recorded for him and him alone, 24 but was written for all of us who would one day be credited for having faith in God, the One who raised Jesus our Lord from the realm of the dead. 25 He was delivered over to death for our trespasses and raised so that we might be made right with God. – Romans 4:18-23

I want to have that kind of faith.  I want to have the kind of faith that moves mountains.  I can have that kind of faith!  You can have that kind of faith!  “Give glory to God!”  It says it right up there.  That is how Abraham’s faith grew.  It didn’t grow because he “worked” at it or read a bunch of books on faith or attended a faith conference.  He gave God glory and his faith grew.

I’ve had some friends trying to tell me this truth for a while.  I have one specific friend who ALWAYS tells me to go turn on some worship music when I approach her with a problem.  Her first response to any crisis of belief is always to worship Him.  This weekend I attended a class on prayer that was the beginning of a series and the very first point which was made was to begin your prayer by declaring who God is in the situation.  We were encouraged to get to know who God is, learn His names and what they mean and begin our prayers by declaring those things over the situation.  If that isn’t giving Him glory from the start, I don’t know what is.  If that doesn’t set the tone for a prayer of faith, I don’t know what does?  And since God seems to like to reiterate what He is saying to me, he highlighted these scriptures just so I’d get the point.

There will always be obstacles but I serve a God with solutions to those obstacles.  If He makes a promise, he has every intention of fulfilling it.  That is good news!

 

Leave a Reply

