I’ll take one of you and you and you…but no clones please!

I am really thankful God didn’t decide to clone human beings!  The other day I mentioned on Facebook that I was thankful for my diverse group of Facebook friends.  I am thankful for that because it means I have a very diverse group of people in my life both past, present and future…assuming I don’t lose any of you in Facebook land or otherwise.  🙂

For through the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think more highly of himself than he ought to think; but to think so as to have sound judgment, as God has allotted to each a measure of faith. For just as we have many members in one body and all the members do not have the same function, so we, who are many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another. Since we have gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, each of us is to exercise them accordingly: if prophecy, [a]according to the proportion of his faith; if [b]service, in his serving; or he who teaches, in his teaching; or he who exhorts, in his exhortation; he who gives, with [c]liberality; he who [d]leads, with diligence; he who shows mercy, with cheerfulness. – Romans 12:3-8

I used to read this scripture and just apply it to a very small group of people…a local church family.  I still think it applies that way, but I also think it applies to a much broader group of people.  I have actually seen it play out in real life over the past few years and I love seeing it in action.  I won’t ever forget the first time I got to experience the diversity of believers all under one roof.  It was a retreat in Colorado of about 350 woman from 26 different countries and no telling how many different denominational backgrounds.  I don’t know because it wasn’t a topic of discussion.  It wasn’t a don’t ask don’t tell kind of scenario, it just didn’t matter….and it was beautiful!  It really was the closest thing to Heaven on earth that I have ever experienced.

I attend worship services at a church right now that is about as diverse a group of believers as I know of under one roof and somehow it works.  I still am not sure how it works…well…besides the obvious Presence of God that is in the place.  I don’t know all the backgrounds that have come together to call this place home, but I do know a few…Catholic…Baptist…Episcopal…Methodist…Church of Christ…Assembly of God.  Uh, yeah, you see what I mean?  That is a very diverse group of backgrounds all meeting together under one roof to worship God each week.  As you would imagine, that is a diverse group of gifts and talents in that mix too and a whole lot of Kingdom work gets done because of it.

As I scroll thru my list of friends and family on Facebook, I see the same kind of diversity and it makes me smile.  It makes me smile because I learn something different about God from each one of them.  It makes me smile because they are each made in His image and here on this earth for a very specific purpose that He has called them to.  It makes me smile because I know of all the lives that can be reached for Him because of the diversity.  It makes me smile because if we are all made in His image and we are all so different, He must REALLY be MUCH bigger than that little box we sometimes have a tendency to put Him in.  It makes me smile because I know I can’t live this life alone with my little tool box but I know I don’t have to because He has blessed me with so many gifted and talented friends and family to fill in the spaces.

Thank you friends for using the gifts and talents He has given you to bless my life and the lives of those around you!  I’m really glad none of you are clones!

Leave a Reply

