Thankful Thursday: A blink!

I’ve said it many times before…I don’t want to let another Thankful Thursday pass by without posting something I’m thankful for, yet somehow I look back and I’ve missed the chance again.  I left the “rules” of my blogging in the dust a while back but I don’t want to leave behind the one where I make sure and post about something I am thankful for at least once a week even if it isn’t something huge.

Last night I watched the benefit concert to raise money for those affected by the recent F5 tornado that hit Moore, Oklahoma.  I watched Miranda Lambert lose control of her emotions as she was giving her performance.  In that moment she wasn’t entertaining the crowd, she was living life.  She became genuine.  I don’t know much about her, so I don’t know if that is usual or out of the ordinary for her, but it was very touching to me.  I also could not help but be moved to tears myself watching the story of the Senior in High School who had to walk the stage without her biggest fan, her mom, who had lost her life to the tornado.  I’ve watched quite a bit of coverage on the tornado.  I was glued to the t.v. for days after it happened.  But then I went on about my life in my little neck of the woods.  Last night the reality of what happened there was transmitted back into my den.

This past weekend I traveled to San Antonio with my oldest daughter, just the two of us.  It was our first ever Mother/Daughter trip and it was wonderful.  It was good for all the reasons that make any trip good…time away from the normal routine…someone else doing the cooking…someone else cleaning the bathroom and making the bed…free time.  It was wonderful because of the many chances to get to “know” Emily.  Yes, I live under the same roof as my daughter.  I’ve known her all her life.  We spend time together but it is usually not real quality time.  There are usually distractions of one kind or another…busyness…technology…people…dogs…homework…the list could go on and on.  This weekend we had very few distractions.  I got a glimpse of what Emily was thinking.  I got a glimpse of a side of her personality I don’t get to see much in the busyness of life.  We had time for spontaneous conversations without interruptions from other people vying for attention.  I am so thankful for each and every one of those moments.  I pray that many of them will stick with her for years to come.  I hope we get many more of these opportunities through the years.

I hope to be able to take my other daughter on a similar trip in a year or two.  I hope life gives us both that opportunity.  Many events over the past few weeks have reminded me just how short and unpredictable life can really be.  I’ve seen it in the faces of those who lost their homes in the blink of an eye.  I’ve seen it in the faces of friends who have had to say goodbye to those they loved way before they ever imagined they would.  Life is uncertain and unpredictable, but it is good.  That is why it is called LIFE, right?  I don’t want to wait until the next trip to get to know my daughters better.  I don’t want to wait until the next “big thing” to make a difference in someone else’s life.  I want to do that today and every day that I have left.  I don’t want to waste the one life I have doing anything that doesn’t have meaning.  There will be dishes to wash and dogs to feed and mundane chores to do…it’s part of life…but I don’t want to miss the ones that really matter…the ones that define LIFE.

Thank you Lord for this life you have given me.  Thank you for the moments you give me with the people I love.  Please show me the moments you have for me that have true meaning and help me to never miss one doing something that didn’t even matter.

 

 

Leave a Reply

