Nothing left but a nub.

20130511-220102.jpgIt was a beautiful day for a visit to the lake, so I loaded up the girls and the dogs and we took off.  Since it was the first time we had been out this spring and it was nice but not hot, we didn’t consider sunscreen…but that is another story.

Goldie is part lab, but will have nothing to do with water.  She doesn’t even like to get her feet wet when it rains, much less get in the lake.  Hershey is a chocolate lab and will go in up to her ankles.  She forgets herself every now and then and gets her belly wet, but mostly she isn’t a fan.  I think if I would go in she would join me, but since I am not going in she thinks she needs to stay on the dry land where I am.

While the girls were playing and splashing in the lake, the dogs and I sat on a rock on the edge and kept an eye on everything.  This picture was the view….well…part of it.  I love old drift wood.  I never used to pay any attention to it, but I got to go on a fun adventure last year and there was a big old piece of driftwood laying on the beach that has sorta become an icon in my mind of that trip.  I don’t know why.  I just think back to that trip every time I see driftwood now.

So, I was sitting there looking at this old, lifeless tree and it occurred to me that I was looking at what was left of its root system.  It appears that this old, fallen, lifeless tree once had a substantial root system to hold it up and support it.  Now it lay lifeless in the water that once fed and nourished it.  It’s root now just good for an interesting picture.

As I sat there pondering life and some conversations I’ve had recently I couldn’t help but wonder what had come of these roots?  What had happened to up-end this tree?  Did the roots die first, or had a storm come along and yanked it out of the ground?

Then my mind went to this verse…22 The seed falling among the thorns refers to someone who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, making it unfruitful.  I wonder how many of our spiritual root systems are in jeopardy of becoming like this trees.  I wonder if there is evidence of a past that was big and alive attached to one too many dead man’s bones.  I wonder how many people allow the worries of life to eat away at the core and the roots of who they are until one day they wake up to discover the roots that once were are no longer there.  They are no longer able to carry nourishment to their souls or hold them up in the storms of life.

That was the first thing I thought about as I looked at that tree…

 

Leave a Reply

