Grab your shoes!

This morning my feet hadn’t even hit the floor before I started pondering.  Okay…truthfully…that isn’t all that unusual.  There is always something stirring around up there.  This morning I had been having a little chat with God about my day and my girls and all those other things one talks to God about in the first waking hours of the day.  I was thinking about how to “walk out” some of the things I’ve been pondering.  I was thinking about how to “walk in the opposite spirit” of some of the things the enemy likes to throw in my path.  I was thinking about how to walk the path that God created just for me…as me and not who I WISH I was or who I admire in others.

I like to read….maybe I could find the right book for the circumstance.  I like to see what others say about stuff…maybe I could find just the right person to ask.  I like to watch how others do things…maybe I could stalk someone.  I like to see what works and doesn’t work…why learn from my OWN mistakes when someone else can take the fall instead.  I like PROOF!  I like well-worn paths…or at least paths that have some sort of indication that someone has been there before and made it thru that particular spot.  I like to see and hear stories of people who have made it thru to the other side…I like to know victory is possible. I like to walk on other people’s paths……….:/

This morning as I was thinking about all of this walking and reading and observing and wondering how to make progress it occurred to me that walking is actually one of the first things a person learns to do…well, after rolling over and sitting up and crawling and stuff.  But, no one learns how to read before they learn how to walk.  In this faith journey I am on with God, I find myself searching for answers in book after book.  🙂  If the point is to walk out what He has placed in front of me and the spiritual journey in any way mirrors the natural…or vice versa 😉 …then reading isn’t exactly the first step…or two.  God didn’t design us that way.  He could have, but he didn’t.  He didn’t hand Adam and Eve a book before he placed them in the Garden and told them to take dominion.  He didn’t give Adam a book of popular animal names and tell him to match them up.  He just stuck them in the garden and told them to get after it…and they walked with Him…until they decided knowledge would take them farther…then they hid from Him.

Have you ever watched a baby learn to walk?  I’ve never seen a single one read about it first.  I have seen them cling to furniture or the hand of a trusted parent.  I have seen them stumble and fall in their excitement to make it to their destination and then get right back up and try again.  And soon…no one can keep up with them!  No, they don’t learn how to walk by reading…they learn it by doing and by observation.  Seems to me the natural law follows spiritual law which is the most powerful law on the earth.

for we walk by faith, not by sight—2 Corinthians 5:7
the one who says he abides in Him ought himself to walk in the same manner as He walked. -1 John 2:6
15 Therefore [a]be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, 16 [b]making the most of your time, because the days are evil. 17 So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is. 18 And do not get drunk with wine, [c]for that is dissipation, but be filled with the Spirit, 19 speaking to [d]one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody with your heart to the Lord; 20 always giving thanks for all things in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to [e]God, even the Father; 21 [f]and be subject to one another in the [g]fear of Christ. – Ephesians 5:15-21
It really doesn’t matter what the books say or what another person says or does.  It really doesn’t matter who I admire or who I want to imitate in whatever thing it is I’ve been called to walk in.  Well…unless the book I am reading is God’s word and the ONE I am aspiring to walk like is His Son and the one I am being guided by is the Holy Spirit…then it makes all the difference in the world.
Go forth on your path, as it exists only through your walking. – St. Augustine of Hippo
 
Leave a Reply

