I want THAT one!

Who do you want to be like?  What Bible character would you like to model your life after?  I recently read a book that has set my mind to pondering the life of David.  I’ve found myself wanting to follow his example.  The book highlighted an aspect of his character that I want to develop in mine.  He knew his place in the Kingdom.  He knew the rank and order of things.  He knew God’s timing was much better than his timing….even when it looked like his calling could be in jeopardy.  He was called a man after God’s own heart…by God!!  This after some less than God-like actions.

But wait…David isn’t just a Bible character.  He was a real person.  He really walked on this earth.  I wonder if we ever forget that as we read these stories in the Bible.  These things really took place.  These people really lived on this earth and did these things and more in their life times.  There were people not listed in the account of their lives that we have who walked with them, watched their lives unfold and were likely influenced by them in one way or another.  They are not just a Bible story.  They are real people, doing real things with their lives that got captured by God for all of us to see.

Have you ever wanted to be someone you are not?  Have you ever wanted someone elses life?  Have you ever wanted a ministry like someone elses?  Have you ever wanted their gifts and talents because they just seemed much more exciting than yours?  Have you ever wanted a heart like someone elses because from where you sit it looks like a pretty good heart?

The other day I was praying for a friend who finds herself in a situation that requires actions that would spring up from a heart like HIS.  As I was praying for her I found myself praying that she would have a heart like David’s.  WHOA!!!  Wait a minute!  That isn’t the heart He has given her.  He has given her a much better heart.  The day she accepted Jesus as her Lord and Savior, she got His heart.  She doesn’t need a heart like David’s.  She needs a heart like Jesus’…and she has one.  Now she just needs to live from that heart.

There are some great people in the bible that I can learn from.  Their lives inspire and teach me.  When I remember to put flesh and blood to their stories, they are rich with truth for my own life.  They are not unlike people who surround me today that I find myself wanting to imitate.  Yes, their lives carried a special anointing.  They made it into the written word of God.  I’d say that is a pretty high calling.  Some of them got to see Jesus face to face.  In all of history, that is a very select group of people.  Who wouldn’t want to have that life?  Who wouldn’t want to be counted among the Hall of Faith and walk out their lives in a way worthy to make that list?  We are even told to imitate them…

11 And we desire that each one of you show the same diligence [a]so as to realize the full assurance of hope until the end, 12 so that you will not be sluggish, but imitators of those who through faith and patience inherit the promises. – Hebrews 6:11-13

But…I don’t want to lose sight of who I really want to be like.  I don’t want to lose sight of whose heart I really want to imitate.  David had an incredible heart…no doubt.  There were great men and woman of faith in the bible…they made a list.  But…Jesus had a better heart!  Jesus had greater faith!

Lord, please call us into the destiny you have for each of us and help us to walk it out with a heart like YOURS!!

After removing Saul, he made David their king. God testified concerning him: ‘I have found David son of Jesse, a man after my own heart; he will do everything I want him to do.’ – Acts 13:22

Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children; and walk in love, just as Christ also loved [a]you and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God [b]as a fragrant aroma. – Ephesians 5:1-2

 

Leave a Reply

