Beautiful Encounters!

Today I was given a question to ponder…Share your first encounter with the Holy Spirit. Wow…that is quite a question to ponder. First of all…there is an assumption that one has had a personal encounter with the Holy Spirit. That question also assumes a person has had more than one personal encounter with the Holy Spirit.

I am going to go ahead and get this out-of-the-way first…that question made me uncomfortable. I’d like to say it made me uncomfortable because it is a personal subject that I just don’t prefer to share. Eh, that wouldn’t really be true. The truth is…I’m new to life in a Spirit-filled community of believers who walk in the Spirit and all of the things that means. I’m in the middle of a learning curve in most things related to the subject of the Holy Spirit. Yes, it’s a life-time of learning for anything related to the Trinity…but I am pretty much somewhere near the beginning…at least that is how I feel. I’ve grown up going to church, but not a church that emphasized the Holy Spirit and His power.

I’ve known that the Spirit leads and guides and comforts, but I think those are pretty basic things in light of that question. An encounter! That seems like a memorable moment in time if you ask me. What on earth would I share? What if it doesn’t make sense? What if it isn’t as big and bold and grand as someone elses? What if it doesn’t sound like an ENCOUNTER? Whoa! Why does it matter? It is MY encounter with the Holy Spirit. It is a place He wanted to meet me personally. It is part of MY testimony, so who cares how it SOUNDS compared to the person sitting next to me. I already know God talks to his kids in all sorts of ways, so why would an encounter with the Holy Spirit be any different. Why would it not be unique and personal?

I’ve spent a good part of the day pondering that question and asking Him to bring those encounters back into my memory. Ones that come easily to mind and others that I may not have even recognized as encounters with the Holy Spirit. I’ve been a Christian for a long time which means the Spirit lives inside of me, so it would stand to reason that I have had encounters with Him for a long time too. I just may not have recognized them as such because I wasn’t really tuned to think that way or tuned into Him.

Yes, I’ve had some encounters with the Holy Spirit. No, I don’t think I am going to share them in this post. I will say, they were beautiful and personal and He met me right where I needed him. I did want to share this song with you though because it came to mind as I was pondering and taking this question to Him. It came to mind because I want more of these encounters more often. I want to be more aware of them. I want others to have them. Why not have a life full of beautiful encounters?

One thought on “Beautiful Encounters!

  1. Shannon says:

    I hear you. I grew up in a church where the only time the Holy Spirit was spoken of was in the three-part invocation of the trinity during baptism: “I now baptize you in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.” That was it. Never spoken of again, unless we were reading the beginning of Acts, and then it was made very clear that the HS only worked in that time and place.

    I would be hard pressed to answer the same question posed to you. Even as I look back to what I think were “encounters,” I really can’t say with any sort of assurance that they were. Most of the encounters I can point to were encounters with the Holy Spirit working in a person who was engaged with me in relationship. In other words, I encountered a person, and in retrospect, realized I had encountered God.

    Sometimes, what is an encounter might be the most ordinary thing, and I think the more important question is not when did it first happen, but how is it happening now, all the time *within* me – for the Spirit is not out there somewhere, but dwelling in us.

    Thank you for sharing a bit of your journey…

Leave a Reply

