24 hour victories!

His mercies are new every morning. The question is are ours? To walk in peace & victory you have to walk in forgiveness. Repeatedly. – Christine Caine

This quote recently came across my news feed and it got me to thinking about all the things that God does daily or offers us daily. It made me think about being made in His image and what that means to me in the dailyness of life. He actually has a lot to say that would point a person to live a very one day at a time kind of existence.

The Lord’s loving kindnesses [a]indeed never cease,
For His compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness. – Lamentations 3:22-23

11 It happened that while [a]Jesus was praying in a certain place, after He had finished, one of His disciples said to Him, “Lord, teach us to pray just as John also taught his disciples.” 2 And He said to them, “When you pray, say:

[b]Father, hallowed be Your name.
Your kingdom come.
3 ‘Give us each day our [c]daily bread.
4 ‘And forgive us our sins,
For we ourselves also forgive everyone who is indebted to us.
And lead us not into temptation.’” – Luke 11:1-4

19 Blessed be the Lord, who daily bears our burden,
The God who is our salvation. Selah. – Psalm 68:19

23 And He was saying to them all, “If anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross daily and follow Me. – Luke 9:23

12 Take care, brethren, that there not be in any one of you an evil, unbelieving heart [c]that falls away from the living God. 13 But encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called “Today,” so that none of you will be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. – Hebrews 3:12-13

12 There is only one Lawgiver and Judge, the One who is able to save and to destroy; but who are you who judge your neighbor?

13 Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, and spend a year there and engage in business and make a profit.” 14 [a]Yet you do not know [b]what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away. – James 4:12-14

34 “So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will [j]care for itself. [k]Each day has enough trouble of its own. – Matthew 6:34

I find myself in a season in life were I am searching for the next place that God wants me. I am searching for my place in His Kingdom. I am searching for where He wants me to be and what He wants me to be doing. I don’t know exactly what that is or the specific timing of it so I find myself…many days…looking at anything but the day I am actually living in. I look to the past or I ponder…or fret…about the future…and then another today is gone.

When I was looking up the verses above I kept thinking about manna and how the Israelites were only supposed to take as much as they needed for that day….except on the weekend. Too much and it was just going to spoil and cause a big mess anyways.

I wonder how many messes we cause in our lives by taking more than a days worth into our minds? I wonder what spoils because we didn’t just take hold of the portion He gave us for today? I wonder what we miss out on in our relationship with Him when we fail to meet with Him daily for that days bread because we are looking at what we did yesterday or longing for some thing in the future?  I wonder what mercies we miss receiving and what mercies we fail to give because we are too busy living in the yesterdays and the tomorrows?  I wonder what strongholds the enemy is allowed to build because we took our eyes off of TODAY!

It seems to me that the enemy would be much easier to defeat a day at a time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

