The KING of do overs!

I never thought about this story quite like it was presented in this song before. I’d always thought about how loved and humbled Peter must have felt when Jesus came back and redeemed him the way that he did.

15 So when they had finished breakfast, Jesus *said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you [f]love Me more than these?” He *said to Him, “Yes, Lord; You know that I [g]love You.” He *said to him, “Tend My lambs.” 16 He *said to him again a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you [h]love Me?” He *said to Him, “Yes, Lord; You know that I [i]love You.” He *said to him, “Shepherd My sheep.” 17 He *said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you [j]love Me?” Peter was grieved because He said to him the third time, “Do you [k]love Me?” And he said to Him, “Lord, You know all things; You know that I [l]love You.” Jesus *said to him, “Tend My sheep. – John 21:15-17

I’ve always thought it was great that he pressed him 3 times in this conversation after Peter had denied him three times.  I’ve always seen it as a do over.  I am pretty fond of do overs.  I think it’s great Jesus offers that to us.

The thing I had never considered until this song was the way Jesus may have felt when he told Peter that he would be denying him in the first place.  I had never considered that Peter would have been anything but offended.  I had never considered that those words could have come across in any other way than harsh and critical.  I had certainly not considered that they could have been said or received in a loving and caring way.  Almost like a hug and a pat on the head…you are going to mess up…it is going to be okay…I’ll take care of it…I’ll love you anyway…I’ll redeem it!!

Isn’t that what He does for all of us every day?  Is that what the risen Savior came to do?  Isn’t that the whole point of what we just celebrated two days ago?  Isn’t that why we desire to live for and be in His presence?

Thank you Lord for loving Peter that way!  Thank you for loving me that way!!

Leave a Reply

