Wherever He leads me!

shepherdI stumbled upon a blog a few weeks ago that offers weekly blogging prompts. Since I got my start in blogging thru a small blogging community with a simple challenge to blog daily, I thought it might be fun to sign up to receive these prompts and see what other blogging connections I might cultivate. I don’t blog because I’m a writer. I don’t blog because I have a desire to write a book one day. I blog because I enjoy pondering and capturing some of those thoughts in a permanent place. I blog because I like the chance to ponder along with others. I’d love to get more of those chances as time goes along. I get a kick out of seeing which countries find my blog and check in on what I have to say. I really hope some of those people will post a comment sooner or later so I know who they are. In the meantime I will continue to blog for the small handful of peeps who check in to see what’s going on in this head of mine. It’s funny that some of them think they have me figured out based on my blog.

The truth is…I’m a work in process. I am not the same person that started this blog over a year ago. I am not the same person who posted on this blog 6 months ago. I doubt seriously I will be the same person who enters posts on this blog two months from now.  At least I hope not.

If you were to ask me where I belonged a year ago I would have given you a much different answer than the one I will give you today. You see…I have been on a journey since August that has had me a bit unsure of exactly where I belong. In August of 2012 my family and I made the decision to follow God to a new place in our journey with Him. We left a church we had attended for 15 years. Leaving this church meant we would no longer be worshiping under the same roof as many people who had become family to us. Frankly, it was one of the hardest things I had ever been asked to do. But, it was also the right thing to do. When you sense that God is doing something in the life of your family and in the life of your husband and quite possibly in your own life, you go…even if your mind and heart can’t quite go there yet. I would say kicking and screaming where a bit of an understatement. The move not only meant a change in churches, it also meant the loss of a job. Losing that job meant losing daily interaction with some people who had become like brothers and sisters to me.  So, there I was…no church home…no job. I still had my friends. I still had my family. Things were just shifting and changing and my head was spinning. I belonged with my husband and family…that much I knew…but where did I belong outside of that. I had built an identity where I was. I had a place of importance. I loved my church family and they loved me.

Identity….

There it is…identity…the buzz word that seems to be front and center in many of the circles I run in.

The whole concept of identity and some of my first pondering about it really began at a retreat where this quote captured the theme of the weekend…

“He told me that the angels talk about me. I asked Him what they say. If you could hear them whisper in hushed and reverent voices, you would hear them say, ‘How beautiful, how glorious, how highly favored is she for whom the Son of God, the Lord of Glory chose to lay down His life.’

This is the truest thing about me.”

from Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge

But what does my identity have to do with where I belong…EVERYTHING!  Maybe that is why identity is so important.

So who am I…what identifies me?

I could give you a list of all the things in the natural…all the things you can see.

Wife…Mother…Sister…Daughter…Friend…Texan…American…Caucasian…College Graduate…the list could go on.

But, the thing that identifies me in the place that you can’t see…DAUGHTER OF THE KING!  Yes, I pray that I am known by that in the natural.  I pray that I am known by that because He can be seen in my actions.

So…where DO I belong?

If you just look at my earthly identity I could tell you several places I belong, but I prefer to look at my life with a different lens.

I belong wherever the King of Kings places me in His Kingdom.  I belong wherever He has plans for my life to shine for Him.  I belong wherever He chooses to lead me into a greater awareness and likeness of Him.  That may not always be exactly where I planned to be.  It may not be where I am most comfortable or most loved by others.  BUT, it will always be where His best for me is present.  It will ultimately be where His work and His peace lead me.  He numbered my days.  He knows the plans He has for me.  He promised me hope and a future.  THAT is where I belong.

For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart. – Jeremiah 29:11-13

2 thoughts on “Wherever He leads me!

  1. Alison says:

    I love those verses from Jeremiah.

Leave a Reply

