Rivers are NOT passive!

The tongue has power
Power of life and of death
It comes from the heart

Who is in your heart?
What is in your heart today?
What is bubbling?

God said we could pray
He said we could pray His will
His will is power

His word is power
His words and His will are life
Let them flow from you

Do you believe it?
Do you believe the power?
Let the river flow!

This past week I made a confession to a friend about prayer. I confessed because I needed to turn from a way of thinking that limits what God can do in and thru my life. It limits what He can change in the various circumstances of life that I cannot change on my own…like I can change anything at all. I needed to bring a way of thinking into the light so that He could transform it. I confessed because I see a new thing coming that requires a changed heart in me. I confessed so that I would be accountable.

So…what is this deep dark secret I confessed? I am sharing it here because something tells me I am not alone. Something tells me that many people close to me could make the same confession. I am sharing it in hopes that lives will be changed as each one of us exams the implications of such a confession. I am sharing it because God has been speaking life into the confession for several days now. He has been showing me how to walk in the opposite spirit that was behind that faulty thinking.

My confession…prayer seems so passive.

Yup! That is how it felt. It turns out it felt that way because…well…I am not in control of the outcome of prayer…like I am really in control of OUTCOME. It felt that way because of a lack of trust in HIS power and willingness to answer the prayers. It felt that way because of a lack of faith in His promises.  It felt that way because of my impatience with the answers.

I’ve got friends who try to live out this scripture in all that they say and do:

21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue,
And those who love it will eat its fruit. – Proverbs 18:21

This scripture seems to come to the surface in many arenas I find myself in lately.  It has come to the surface in personal conversations, books, bible studies, sermons…just about everywhere I turn.  Hmmm.  Wonder why?

Well…since that confession…God has been pointing some things out to me about Himself and about the POWER of prayer and about how this verse relates to prayer…not just the things I say as I move thru life.  I wish I could attach the sermon and the class I attended this week…especially the class.  But, since I can’t I’ll just give you some highlights that I believe were God’s answer to my confession and His provision to see me walk past that confession into a new thing He has for me to take hold of:

“God wants to break through in your life wherever the Enemy thinks he has the strongest hold on you.” – Robert Morris

“Ask God for the battle plan…It’s not by might…It’s not by power…It’s by His Spirit.” – Robert Morris

These were the things that I took away from our weekend service this weekend and in less than 12 hours God would do exactly that in regards to my desire for a more meaningful prayer life.  He showed me His power in prayer thru some very powerful teaching on the subject of prayer.  He even used scripture that I recently pondered from a different angle to teach me something I would need in order to strengthen my prayer life.

47 Then he brought me back to the door of the house; and behold, water was flowing from under the threshold of the house toward the east, for the house faced east. And the water was flowing down from under, from the right side of the house, from south of the altar. He brought me out by way of the north gate and led me around [a]on the outside to the outer gate by way of the gate that faces east. And behold, water was trickling from the south side.When the man went out toward the east with a line in his hand, he measured a thousand cubits, and he led me through the water, water reaching the ankles. Again he measured a thousand and led me through the water, water reaching the knees. Again he measured a thousand and led me through the water, water reaching the loins. Again he measured a thousand; and it was a river that I could not ford, for the water had risen, enough water to swim in, a river that could not be forded. He said to me, “Son of man, have you seen this?” Then he brought me [b]back to the bank of the river. Now when I had returned, behold, on the bank of the river there were very many trees on the one side and on the other. Then he said to me, “These waters go out toward the eastern region and go down into the Arabah; then they go toward the sea, being made to flow into the sea, and the waters of the sea become [c]fresh. It will come about that every living creature which swarms in every place where the [d]river goes, will live. And there will be very many fish, for these waters go there and the others[e]become fresh; so everything will live where the river goes. 10 And it will come about that fishermen will stand beside it; from Engedi to Eneglaim there will be a place for the spreading of nets. Their fish will be according to their kinds, like the fish of the Great Sea, very many. 11 But its swamps and marshes will not become [f]fresh; they will be [g]left for salt. 12 By the river on its bank, on one side and on the other, will grow all kinds of trees for food. Their leaves will not wither and their fruit will not fail. They will bear every month because their water flows from the sanctuary, and their fruit will be for food and their leaves for healing.” – Ezekial 47:1-12

22 Then he showed me a river of the water of life, [a]clear as crystal, coming from the throne of God and of [b]the Lamb, in the middle of its street. On either side of the river was the tree of life, bearing twelve [c]kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit every month; and the leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations. There will no longer be any curse; and the throne of God and of the Lamb will be in it, and His bond-servants will serve Him; they will see His face, and His name will be on their foreheads. And there will no longer be any night; and they [d]will not have need of the light of a lamp nor the light of the sun, because the Lord God will illumine them; and they will reign forever and ever. – Revelation 22:1-5

37 The hand of the Lord was upon me, and He brought me out [a]by the Spirit of the Lord and set me down in the middle of the valley; and it was full of bones. He caused me to pass among them round about, and behold, there were very many on the surface of the valley; and lo, they were very dry. He said to me, “Son of man, can these bones live?” And I answered, “O Lord [b]God, You know.” Again He said to me, “Prophesy over these bones and say to them, ‘O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord.’ Thus says the Lord God to these bones, ‘Behold, I will cause [c]breath to enter you that you may come to life. I will put sinews on you, make flesh grow back on you, cover you with skin and put breath in you that you may come alive; and you will know that I am the Lord.’” So I prophesied as I was commanded; and as I prophesied, there was a [d]noise, and behold, a rattling; and the bones came together, bone to its bone. And I looked, and behold, sinews were on them, and flesh grew and skin covered them; but there was no breath in them. Then He said to me, “Prophesy to the breath, prophesy, son of man, and say to the breath, ‘Thus says the Lord God, “Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe on these slain, that they come to life.”’” 10 So I prophesied as He commanded me, and the breath came into them, and they came to life and stood on their feet, an exceedingly great army. – Ezekiel 37:1-10

I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing. If anyone does not abide in Me, he is thrown away as a branch and dries up; and they gather them, and cast them into the fire and they are burned. If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. – John 15:5-7

13 Jesus answered and said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will thirst again; 14 but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him shall never thirst; but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life.” – John 4:13-14

Do you see it?  Do you see the power in prayer?  Do you see what is inside of every believer?  Do you see what can be released through our words into any situation?  Do you see why God says to pray “thy will be done on earth as it is in Heaven”?  Do you see why that type of prayer is powerful?  Do you see why prayers prayed from a river flowing inside of you that comes from the throne of God are powerful to bring life into any situation where there was no hope?

THANK YOU GOD FOR REVELATION!!!!!!!  Thank you Jay Bogenreif for speaking God’s word into our lives this morning!

 

Leave a Reply

