Parenting….How does HE do it?

A few days ago a really good blog came to me at 2:00am and y’all never got to read it.  Today I had a whole bunch of thoughts swirling in my head as the water swirled down the drain of the shower.  I’m not going to claim this to be the post that makes me famous.  I really think it was the one I never got to blog the other night.  Today’s post is just the beginnings of thoughts flowing thru my head about parenting.  I’m sure I’ve posted other thoughts I have about that…I think.  If not, it isn’t because I have none.  It’s because I’m in the middle of trying to figure this thing out and I have learned that one must be very careful what they profess to believe about a subject unless they are prepared to be handed those words in the form of a foot sandwich.  I especially know that to be true about subjects like parenting where someone is stating how it “should be done.”  There is nothing like a bold profession about how something should or should not be done to bring on a situation to test those beliefs.

I love to read, but I pretty much HATE to read parenting books.  I have read a few…especially ones that come highly recommended.  I’m even reading one at the moment that I am actually loving because God is using it to highlight some things that this mom REALLY needed to hear.  I’m sure I’ll have something to say about it later and since I am just starting the book, I think I’ll just leave it at that.  I also just read a book that was not advertised as a book about parenting, but all they need to do is change the title and a few things here and there and it would be a parenting book in a flash…and a dang good one at that!  I’ll also wait to reveal that book because I am about to be fortunate enough to attend a study that goes along with the book and I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say and a recommendation of the book after I’ve had time to really dig deep into its implications to life as I see it.

Oh…I was writing a blog about parenting wasn’t I?

Well…this morning as I was thinking back over my weekend and some of the successes and failures of my interactions with my girls in the role as their mom…I started wondering how on earth I am going to walk this thing out successfully.  I don’t want to raise my girls to conform to MY every wish and desire for them…yes…I said DON’T.  I want to raise them so their HEARTS are turned toward God because THEY want their hearts to be turned towards Him.  If that happens….everything else will fall into place….in spite of me and my ability to parent.

I don’t think I am going to find the magic formula to that in a book…

I don’t think I am going to find the magic formula to that in a podcast…

I don’t think there is a magic formula…

It did occur to me that perhaps I could ASK Him how to do it….how to parent each of these girls so their hearts turn toward Him.  Actually….He is the only one who knows what it will take for that to happen.  He is the only one who really knows what each of them needs.  If He is supposed to be my example of how to parent…maybe I should start with figuring out what kind of parent he is and start modeling that…as best I can…to my girls.  AND THEN…Ask Him to fill in ALL the GAPS I’m sure to miss because I am SOOOO not like Him.

So I did…and here is where it starts…at least it’s where He sent me…

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. – Galatians 5:22-23

I could ask every expert under the sun what to do.  I could parent the way I was parented…which wasn’t all bad…just in case my parental units read this and mistake what I’m saying…I didn’t turn out so bad after all!!  I could try every technique or make up some on my own.  I could parent like my friends or the other parents I know.

But I want to make a REAL difference in the two kids under MY roof.  If that is the fruit that I am after in my life and it is the fruit that my Heavenly Father produces….I want that for my girls.  Perhaps more of that fruit in my life as a parent would be a good place to start.  Perhaps I could start with filtering the things I say and do as a parent….and otherwise…thru those fruits.  And did that say…against such things there is no law?  Hmmmm….maybe I don’t need a bunch of rules and fancy tips and techniques.

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

