Worship Wednesday: Who needs a dead bolt?

What protects your house from intruders? Do you have an alarm system that alerts you to unwanted visitors? If not an alarm, what about trusty locks?  How many locks do you have on your doors and windows?  We actually have all of those things to keep us “safe”…an alarm, locks and two dogs with pretty good barks.

But what if they get past the door?  Do you have a weapon of choice you would grab? And …do you think you’d be able to react appropriately to get to the weapon and actually use it to defend yourself?   As far as weapons in my house…that is a secret. 😉 I’m pretty sure any object could potentially become a weapon if I was defending my kids.

But why all the defenses?  What is there in this house worth defending?  What is there in your house worth defending?  And how many people do you have trying to knock down your door…really?  When is the last time you had a real threat to the security of your house or your belongings?  I know it happens.  I’m sure it wouldn’t take me long to find a news story for you if I really wanted to.  I KNOW I could find a report on the weapons of defense in your home right now.

The truth is there is something in my house worth defending.  It is highly valuable.  The problem is…no alarm, or lock or dog or weapon I could buy or make is going to defend against the intruder that would like to break in to steal, kill and destroy this priceless treasure.  I don’t have enough might, or will or strength to fight the intruder who wants this treasure.  BUT….I am not defenseless!!!

We actually have 4 of these priceless treasures.  The treasure worth defending in this house is the heart, mind and spirit of each person who resides here.  The intruder…Yup…that guy with horns and all his buddies.  Only I’ve noticed he isn’t the guy with horns I believed him to be as a child.  His buddies don’t all carry pitch forks…that I can see.  They actually clean up pretty well and talk real sweet and play some pretty fun games to get you to trust them.  They have  some pretty convincing counterfeits in their arsenals that make you think they are selling you something you need or want…then they bust thru your best defenses.

“For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” – Ephesians 6:12

Don’t worry…trust me…it will do you no good against these guys!  Don’t go buy a bunch of books about how to defend YOURSELF against these guys.  You don’t really need a bunch of fancy locks or alarms with bells and whistles to alert you to their arrival.  They will be much trickier than all those things anyways.  Nothing YOU do can control your environment in such a way that you no longer have to deal with these intruders.  Sounds a bit hopeless, huh? Yeah…that is what they want you to think.  How on earth do we fight something we can’t see?  How do we defend our priceless treasure against THAT kind of intruder?  I think this intruder wants us to get so focused on this verse that we stop and panic.  But….we don’t need locks or alarms or loud barking dogs…we have an ARSENAL!  We have something money can’t buy!  We have something that belongs to God!

13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. – Ephesians 6:13-17

Did you see that?  It’s God’s armor!  What intruder could possibly penetrate that kind of defense?  God has the best of everything!

Oh but wait…you know that thing you say sometimes…well I’ve been known to say it…”I guess all we can do is pray…we’ve done everything else we know to do.”  Ha!  God knew we would have that tendency to think of that after everything else.  Why else would he have mentioned the armor first and then followed it up with this?

18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. – Ephesians 6:18

Maybe that is part of His desire to work with and partner with us.  I could just imagine this going thru God’s mind….  “I’ll give them something to do because they like to do things.  I’ll have them put on the armor so they feel a sense of control.  Then…I’ll remind them who is in charge of that armor and their circumstances.  I’ll remind them who is the power behind that armor.  I’ll remind them to call on the One who can stop those intruders dead in their tracks!  They might think they stopped the intruder by putting on all that armor so I will remind them they need to talk to the One who owns that armor.”

I love how God works out all the details…

2 thoughts on “Worship Wednesday: Who needs a dead bolt?

  1. Lisa says:

    Good post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

