Thankful Thursday: Something Old Something New

Here it is the 17th of January and I am just now doing a Thankful Thursday post.  Oops!  It’s not that I haven’t been thankful for anything…I’ve just had writers block and couldn’t type my way out of whatever corner of cyberspace I was stuck in.  And the things I thought of…well…most of them needed to stay in the corner…on one of those little stools…with one of those little pointy cone hats.  🙂

So, the first Thankful Thursday post of 2013…

Today was a big day.  I hadn’t really thought about how significant this day turned out to be until I sat down to write this post.  I’d call today a hug from God kind of day.  It almost feels…as I’m writing this…as if it was some sort of intersecting point in the spiritual world.  Or maybe it was a glimpse of what this place on my journey is going to look like.  Maybe it was a picture into my new reality and what God is doing.

This morning I did my usual volunteer job at the middle school and got to chat with a teacher or two about the finer points of life with a middle school kid.  These unplanned…by me…encounters were very encouraging.  Then I got to spend some time with some of my BFFs eating and chatting and catching up on a little bit of life and doing a little work for an upcoming retreat…one of my favorite places on earth.  I am so thankful for these peeps!  I don’t get to spend near enough time with them!  I find myself so happy to get to spend time with them but always with a hint of sadness for what has changed.  It’s funny though…how God is taking care of that.  When I got home from spending most of the afternoon with them that handsome fella of mine was anxiously awaiting my arrival.  He wanted to share his early morning activities with me.  You see, he had been to a prayer meeting that started at 5:30am and we hadn’t connected until this afternoon.  So, we sat on the couch and watched a video recording of that meeting together.  I loved it.  I got to see a glimpse of what God is doing in this season with him and for our family.  The prayer meeting was centered on praying for one’s past, present and future family relationships.  It was a blessing to watch that recording and see my handsome fella’s bald head bowed in prayer for our family.  Seeing that gives hope and healing for the things that tug at my emotions in the sad times.  Then it was my turn.  The fella began the day in prayer and worship and I got it end it that way with an evening out with the ladies of Gateway for a Night of Worship with Rita Springer.  The worship was wonderful.  I’d venture a guess that everyone there felt His Presence.  I ended the evening getting to know a couple of new friends that God has placed on my path.  It was fun.  We had some good conversation and a few laughs and made it there and back safely without getting lost and I even showed them a different route home.  BIG, huh?  🙂  Oh…no…that isn’t how my day ended.  I was home in time to say prayers with my family.  I was home in time for a drama free bedtime.  (Now that definitely ranks on the thankful chart.)

As I read that list of my day, it occurs to me that God wove my current story together very nicely today.  He showed me it doesn’t have to be out with the old and in with the new.  It doesn’t have to be all or nothing.  I don’t have to give up the old for the new or the new for the old.  His story is always bigger than we expect…at least it is always bigger than I expect.  Sure…sometimes He will ask you to give up everything to follow Him.  Today…He gave me a hug and reassured me that He has parts of the old and new waiting for me on this journey.  He gave me a glimpse into what He is doing and hope that His will is being fulfilled in this season.

So…as I begin my thankful ponderings for 2013…I am thankful for a God whose stories far exceed anything I could dare to write.  I am thankful for a God who allows us to build on the story He has already written in our lives and carry parts of it with us into our future.

 

Leave a Reply

